Vlatko Andonovski names 23-player USWNT squad for Concacaf W Championship

Lizzy Becherano
USWNT head coach Vlatko Andonovski announced the 23-player roster headed to the Concacaf W Championship.
USWNT head coach Vlatko Andonovski announced the 23-player roster headed to the Concacaf W Championship. / Brad Smith/ISI Photos/GettyImages

US women’s national team head coach Vlatko Andonovski has named the 23-player roster headed to the Concacaf W Championship next month.

The international tournament runs from July 4 to July 18 and will serve as the qualifying tournament for the 2023 World Cup and the 2024 Paris Olympics.

Veterans Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe headline the squad after receiving their first call up of 2022. Angel City striker Morgan leads the NWSL in goals this season with nine in nine games, while Rapinoe has made just four substitute appearances for the OL Reign amid a dry spell. 

Several key figures will be missing from the tournament, as Abby Dahlkemper, Sam Mewis, Tierna Davidson, Catarina Macario, Christen Press and Lynn Williams are all out with injuries. 

The USWNT will also host Colombia in a pair of friendlies on June 25 and June 28 before heading off to the Concacaf W Championship. Carson Pickett, Jaelin Howell and Sam Coffey will join the roster for the friendlies. The inclusion of Pickett, who was born without part of her left arm, comes as a historic move, as she is the first player with a limb difference to ever be called up by the American team.

“Since we were last together in April, we’ve been evaluating a lot of games and hours of video and have had extensive conversations among the coaching staff to arrive at this 26-player roster for the Colombia games and the final 23 for qualifying,” Andonovski said in a federation release.

“As usual, the players don’t make these decisions easy, but we feel this is a roster that can accomplish all of our goals over the four weeks we will be together for what we hope will be seven successful games.”

Full USWNT roster for Concacaf W Championship


  • Aubrey Kingsbury - Washington Spirit
  • Casey Murphy - North Carolina Courage
  • Alyssa Naeher - Chicago Red Stars


  • Alana Cook - OL Reign
  • Emily Fox - Racing Louisville FC
  • Naomi Girma - San Diego Wave FC
  • Sofia Huerta - OL Reign
  • Kelley O’Hara - Washington Spirit
  • Becky Sauerbrunn - Portland Thorns FC
  • Emily Sonnett - Washington Spirit


  • Lindsey Horan - Olympique Lyon
  • Taylor Kornieck - San Diego Wave FC
  • Rose Lavelle - OL Reign
  • Kristie Mewis - NJ/NY Gotham FC
  • Ashley Sanchez - Washington Spirit
  • Andi Sullivan - Washington Spirit


  • Ashley Hatch - Washington Spirit
  • Alex Morgan - San Diego Wave FC
  • Midge Purce - NJ/NY Gotham FC
  • Mallory Pugh - Chicago Red Stars
  • Megan Rapinoe - OL Reign
  • Trinity Rodman - Washington Spirit
  • Sophia Smith - Portland Thorns FC