USMNT in Nations League Group B with El Salvador and Grenada

Lizzy Becherano
The USMNT drew in Group D for the 2022-2023 Nations League.
The USMNT drew in Group D for the 2022-2023 Nations League. / John Dorton/ISI Photos/GettyImages

The Concacaf Nations League is back this summer, kicking off in June 2022. 

The US men’s national team learned their fate on Monday, drawing in League A’s Group D with El Salvador and Grenada. The USMNT currently stand as the defending champions of the tournament, raising expectations high. 

Beyond the trophy, the Nations League acts as a qualifier for the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup. The top two finishers in each League A group, as well as winners in League B, advance directly into next summer’s confederation championship.

The twelve remaining teams are forced to face the Gold Cup preliminaries for a chance to feature in the international tourament. The Prelims include the participation of League A third-place finishers, the League B second-place finishers and the League C group winners. 

Here’s all you need to know about the Nations League… 

2022 Nations League schedule

Schedules and locations are to be announced in the coming months. 

  • Group stage: June 2022 and March 2023, four total (home-and-away)
  • Semifinals and final: June 2023

USMNT's Group B rivals 

El Salvador: The USMNT recently faced La Selecta during the daunting World Cup qualifiers, where the American side drew 0-0 in September before winning 1-0 in January. El Salvador could not earn enough points during the Octagonal, finishing in seventh on the Concacaf table to miss out on the World Cup. The team features Major League Soccer’s Alex Roldan, Eriq Zavaleta and Darwin Ceren. 

Grenada: While the Spice Boys may be 170th in the FIFA World Ranking, they are not to be underestimated. The team has made the Gold Cup three times, most recently in 2011. The two nations last faced off in the 2009 edition of the Nations League, where the American side defeated Grenada 4-0. 

CONCACAF Nations League A groups

  • Group A: Mexico, Jamaica, Suriname
  • Group B: Costa Rica, Panama, Martinque
  • Group C: Canada, Honduras, Curacao
  • Group D: USA, El Salvador, Grenada