Manchester City

Pep Guardiola named LMA Manager of the Year

Tom Gott
Pep Guardiola has won the LMA Manager of the Year award
Pep Guardiola has won the LMA Manager of the Year award / Michael Regan/Getty Images

Manchester City boss Pep Guardiola has won the LMA Manager of the Year award after guiding his side to the Premier League title.

City have been the best team in England by a country mile this season, roaring to success in both the league and Carabao Cup, and they may well make it a treble when they face Chelsea in the Champions League final on Saturday.

There's no denying this has been an excellent season from City, and Guardiola now has a trophy of his own after managers across England voted to hand him the Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy for the LMA Manager of the Year.

The Spaniard fought off competition from Marcelo Bielsa (Leeds United), Daniel Farke (Norwich City), Emma Hayes MBE (Chelsea Women), David Moyes (West Ham United) and Brendan Rodgers (Leicester City).

“I am delighted to win the LMA Manager of the Year award for the second time," Guardiola said (via the LMA official website). "It is, for me, such a special trophy to win because it is voted for by my fellow managers. An award like this is only possible though if a manager is surrounded by top professionals.

“My players have been fantastic – their dedication and professionalism never wavered, even in a season that has been the most challenging we have ever faced.

“And my staff are also deserving of the highest praise. I am so lucky to have a team of people who give everything they have every single day to make sure Manchester City are the best we can be. This award is dedicated to and shared with them.”

Sir Alex Ferguson added: “Many Congratulations Pep on being voted, by your fellow managers, as the winner of the LMA Manager of the Year 2021. Your accomplishments this season, have once again, been outstanding. Your team has played wonderful football and I applaud you for winning your third Premier League title, your fourth Carabao Cup in successive seasons and taking Manchester City to their first Champions League Final.

“As well as being a truly gifted manager and leader, you always display admirable humility and composure and I am sure your family must be very proud of you.

Pep Guardiola, Sir Alex Ferguson
Ferguson was full of praise for Guardiola / CARL DE SOUZA/Getty Images

“On a personal note, I would like to thank you for your valuable support of the League Managers Association which is much appreciated by your fellow LMA members.”

Hayes took home the WSL Manager of the Year prize, with Rangers' Steven Gerrard earning the Special Achievement Award for his unbeaten season in Scotland.

For more from ​Tom Gott, follow him on ​Twitter!