Mark McKenzie & Erik Palmer-Brown added to the USMNT squad for September friendlies

Lizzy Becherano
Gregg Berhalter adds McKenzie and Palmer-Brown to September squad.
Gregg Berhalter adds McKenzie and Palmer-Brown to September squad. / John Dorton/ISI Photos/GettyImages

Mark McKenzie and Erik Palmer-Brown have been added to the 26-player USMNT roster set to face Japan and Saudi Arabia in the upcoming September friendlies. They replace Cameron Carter-Vickers and Chris Richards, who were forced to withdraw from the camp through injury.

McKenzie has previously featured for the USMNT on eight occasions, including a start in the American team’s 3-2 victory over Mexico in the 2021 Concacaf Nations League final. He currently plays for Genk in the Belgian First Division. 

They join as players prepare to report to the USMNT training camp in Cologne, Germany, this weekend before facing Japan on September 23 at Dusseldorf Arena in Germany and traveling to Murcia, Spain, to meet Saudi Arabia on September 27 at Estadio Nueva Condomina. 

“As we approach the World Cup, this is another opportunity for us to take a step forward as a group,” said USMNT head coach Gregg Berhalter when announcing the squad.

"We have a strong roster and can use these games as a measuring stick against World Cup opponents as we continue to gain valuable experience ahead of going to Qatar.”

26-player USMNT roster - September 2022


  • Ethan Horvath (Luton Town)
  • Sean Johnson (New York City FC)
  • Matt Turner (Arsenal)


  • Reggie Cannon (Boavista)
  • Mark McKenzie (Genk)
  • Sergiño Dest (AC Milan)
  • Aaron Long (New York Red Bulls)
  • Erik Palmer-Brown (Troyes)
  • Joe Scally (Borussia Mönchengladbach)
  • Sam Vines (Royal Antwerp)
  • DeAndre Yedlin (Inter Miami)


  • Kellyn Acosta (LAFC)
  • Tyler Adams (Leeds United)
  • Luca de la Torre (Celta Vigo)
  • Weston McKennie (Juventus)
  • Johnny Cardoso (SC Internacional)
  • Malik Tillman (Rangers)


  • Brenden Aaronson (Leeds United)
  • Paul Arriola (FC Dallas)
  • Jesús Ferreira (FC Dallas)
  • Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders)
  • Ricardo Pepi (Groningen)
  • Christian Pulisic (Chelsea)
  • Gio Reyna (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Josh Sargent (Norwich City)