Jorginho named 2020/21 Men's UEFA Player of the Year

Tom Gott
Jorginho won the UEFA award
Jorginho won the UEFA award / Claudio Villa/Getty Images

Chelsea midfielder Jorginho has been named UEFA's Player of the Year for 2020/21.

The Italian enjoyed one of the most successful years on record, winning both the Champions League and European Championship with club and country.

He was up against team-mate N'Golo Kante and Manchester City's Kevin De Bruyne for the prize, but Jorginho was confirmed as the winner during UEFA's award ceremony on Thursday.

"I want to say that I'm very happy with this award," Jorginho said. "I would like to say thank you to all the people who made their contribution to make this happen.

"A big thanks from the heart to all the people who helped me on this journey, from my family, to my friends, to the fans, to the team-mates, and to all the people who didn't believe in me. They motivated me to work even more so thanks to them as well."

Jorginho's success was the cherry on top of what was a fantastic evening for Chelsea. The Blues had plenty of winners, including manager Thomas Tuchel, who beat Pep Guardiola and Roberto Mancini to the prize.

"We are very pleased to receive this reward, I take it on behalf of all my staff," the German said. "We are absolutely delighted and we are very grateful for everyone who supported us."

Chelsea stopper Edouard Mendy was named the Goalkeeper of the Year ahead of Thibaut Courtois and Ederson, while Kante took home the Midfielder of the Year prize, fending off competition from Jorginho and De Bruyne this time around.

Elsewhere, City centre-back Ruben Dias took home the Defender of the Year prize ahead of Chelsea duo Cesar Azpilicueta and Antonio Rudiger, while Dortmund hitman Erling Haaland took home the award for forwards.

"It's a great honour for me to receive this prestigious award, an award that motivates me to do even more and to improve all the time," Haaland said.

"Thanks to all my team-mates who have contributed to this extraordinary award. Now, it's time to start again."