Carabao Cup: History of the English Football League Cup’s previous names, winners and records

Liverpool are the current holders
Liverpool are the current holders / Chris Brunskill/Fantasista/GettyImages

Though not seen as the trophy to win in England, the EFL Cup (or Carabao Cup) still retains plenty of prestige.

It was introduced in 1960 in an attempt to boost falling attendances and revenue in English football, particularly with most stadiums now equipped with floodlights to host evening matches (hey, it's over 60 years later, turns out it was a half-decent idea).

But why is it currently called the Carabao Cup? What was it called before? Which teams have won the trophy before? We have all your questions covered...

Why is it called the Carabao Cup?

In 2016, Thai energy drink Carabao signed a deal to sponsor the EFL Cup from the 2017/18 season until 2020. This has since been extended until 2024.

The EFL have historically opted to sell the naming rights of the competition as a title sponsor. In contrast, the FA Cup has kept its name but features a sponsor in the title.

Previous names of the Carabao Cup

Football League Cup

  • Duration: 1960-1981
  • Sponsor: N/A
  • Sponsor information: N/A

Milk Cup

  • Duration: 1981-1986
  • Sponsor: Milk Marketing Board
  • Sponsor information: Product marketing board

Littlewoods Challenge Cup

  • Duration: 1986-1990
  • Sponsor: Littlewoods
  • Sponsor information: Retail and football betting company

Rumbelows Cup

  • Duration: 1990-1992
  • Sponsor: Rumbelows
  • Sponsor information: Electronics retailer

Coca-Cola Cup

  • Duration: 1992-1998
  • Sponsor: The Coca-Cola Company
  • Sponsor information: Beverage corporation

Worthington Cup

  • Duration: 1998-2003
  • Sponsor: Worthington's
  • Sponsor information: Brewery

Carling Cup

  • Duration: 2003-2012
  • Sponsor: Molson Coors/Carling
  • Sponsor information: Brewery

Capital One Cup

  • Duration: 2012-2016
  • Sponsor: Capital One
  • Sponsor information: Bank holding company


  • Duration: 2016-2017 (still used as alternate name)
  • Sponsor: N/A
  • Sponsor information: N/A

How many times has each team won the Carabao Cup?

Liverpool (9 times, holders)

Manchester City (8 times)

Aston Villa (5 times)

Chelsea (5 times)

Manchester United (5 times)

Tottenham Hotspur (4 times)

Nottingham Forest (4 times)

Leicester City (3 times)

Arsenal (2 times)

Norwich City (2 times)

Birmingham City (2 times)

Wolverhampton Wanderers (2 times)

West Bromwich Albion (1 time)

Middlesbrough (1 time)

Queens Park Rangers (1 time)

Leeds United (1 time)

Stoke City (1 time)

Luton Town (1 time)

Sheffield Wednesday (1 time)

Swindon Town (1 time)

Oxford United (1 time)

Blackburn Rovers (1 time)

Swansea City (1 time)

Top 5 goal scorers of the Carabao Cup

5. Tony Cottee

Goals: 35
Appearances: 62
Goal-to-game ratio: 0.56
Clubs: West Ham United, Everton, Leicester City, Norwich City
Years active: 1982-2001
EFL Cup wins: 1

4. Ian Wright

Goals: 38
Appearances: 50
Goal-to-game ratio: 0.76
Clubs: Crystal Palace, Arsenal, West Ham United
Years active: 1986-1999
EFL Cup wins: 1

3. John Aldridge

Goals: 44
Appearances: 62
Goal-to-game ratio: 0.73
Clubs: Newport County, Oxford United, Liverpool, Tranmere Rovers
Years active: 1978-1998
EFL Cup wins: 1

2. Ian Rush

Goals: 49
Appearances: 82
Goal-to-game ratio: 0.60
Clubs: Liverpool, Leeds United, Newcastle United,
Years active: 1980-1998
EFL Cup wins: 5

1. Geoff Hurst

Goals: 49
Appearances: 60
Goal-to-game ratio: 0.82
Clubs: West Ham United, Stoke City
Years active: 1961-1975
EFL Cup wins: 0