Ballon d'Or 2022: The confirmed 30-player shortlist

One of the 30 nominated players will win the 2022 Ballon d'Or
One of the 30 nominated players will win the 2022 Ballon d'Or / THOMAS SAMSON/GettyImages

France Football have released the 30-player shortlist for the 2022 Ballon d'Or, which will crown the best individual male player of the 2021/22 season.

2021 recipient and seven-time former winner Lionel Messi does not feature for the first time in a very long time, but hot favourite Karim Benzema is joined by the likes of Robert Lewandowski, Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane, Kevin De Bruyne, Kylian Mbappe and Erling Haaland.

Cristiano Ronaldo also makes the cut after 24 club goals for Manchester United last season - his 18th nomination for the award, extending his own record.

More surprising inclusions on the shortlist are Luis Diaz, who only joined Liverpool in January, and Darwin Nunez, who scored plenty of goals for Benfica but didn't win any silverware.

Rafael Leao's contributions to AC Milan's first Serie A title since 2011 have been recognised, as have Christopher Nkunku's excellent numbers for RB Leipzig. But both are massive outsiders.

2022 Ballon d'Or shortlist

  • Thibaut Courtois - Real Madrid
  • Rafael Leao - AC Milan
  • Christopher Nkunku - RB Leipzig
  • Mohamed Salah - Liverpool
  • Joshua Kimmich - Bayern Munich
  • Trent Alexander-Arnold - Liverpool
  • Vinicius Junior - Real Madrid
  • Bernardo Silva - Manchester City
  • Luis Diaz - Porto/Liverpool
  • Robert Lewandowski - Bayern Munich/Barcelona
  • Riyad Mahrez - Manchester City
  • Casemiro - Real Madrid
  • Son Heung-min - Tottenham Hotspur
  • Fabinho - Liverpool
  • Karim Benzema - Real Madrid
  • Mike Maignan - AC Milan
  • Harry Kane - Tottenham Hotspur
  • Darwin Nunez - Benfica/Liverpool
  • Phil Foden - Manchester City
  • Sadio Mane - Liverpool/Bayern Munich
  • Sebastien Haller - Ajax/Borussia Dortmund
  • Luka Modric - Real Madrid
  • Antonio Rudiger - Chelsea/Real Madrid
  • Cristiano Ronaldo - Manchester United
  • Kevin De Bruyne - Manchester City
  • Dusan Vlahovic - Fiorentina/Juventus
  • Virgil van Dijk - Liverpool
  • Joao Cancelo - Manchester City
  • Kylian Mbappe - Paris Saint-Germain
  • Erling Haaland - Borussia Dortmund/Manchester City