Ballon d'Or

2022 Ballon d'Or ceremony - when is it, how to watch & confirmed shortlist

Jude Summerfield
Putellas and Messi are the current Ballon d'Or holders
Putellas and Messi are the current Ballon d'Or holders / Aurelien Meunier / Stringer | Getty Images

The Ballon d'Or ceremony takes place annually to crown the best players in world football.

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have gone head to head for the award over the past 15 years, and while the Argentine is the current holder, neither are expected to win it this year.

The Ballon d'Or Feminin is also due to be awarded, with Euro 2022 surely fresh in the minds of voters.

Here's what you need to know about the 2022 Ballon d'Or ceremony.

When is the 2022 Ballon d'Or ceremony?

  • Where? Paris, France
  • When? 17 October 2022
  • What time? TBC
  • Hosted by? TBC

Who is nominated for the 2022 Ballon d'Or?

The nominees for the 2022 Ballon d'Or will be revealed on 12 August.

Karim Benzema is the firm favourite after his heroics with Real Madrid in the Champions League, though Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane are expected to be backed in some corners.

The current holder is Lionel Messi, who somewhat controversially beat off competition from favourite Robert Lewandowski to win the award for a record seventh time last year.

Who is nominated for the 2022 Ballon d'Or Feminin?

The nominees for the 2022 Ballon d'Or Feminin have been revealed on 12 August and current holder
Alexia Putellas is up for the gong again.

The Spain wizard won it last year with a stunning season for Barcelona as they won a continental triple, though she will face competition from other nominees,

Sam Kerr has had a brilliant year, Viv Miedema was prolific again in the Women's Super League and Beth Mead inspired England to Euro 2022 glory.

2022 Ballon d'Or Feminin nominees

  • Selma Bacha - Lyon
  • Fridolina Rolfo - Barcelona
  • Vivianne Miedema - Arsenal
  • Lucy Bronze - Barcelona
  • Sam Kerr - Chelsea
  • Christiane Endler - Lyon
  • Lena Oberdorf - Wolfsburg
  • Kadidiatou Diani - Paris Saint-Germain
  • Catarina Macario - Lyon
  • Alexia Putellas - Barcelona
  • Alexandra Popp - Wolfsburg
  • Aitana Bonmati - Barcelona
  • Wendie Renard - Lyon
  • Alex Morgan - San Diego Wave
  • Beth Mead - Arsenal
  • Asisat Oshoala - Barcelona
  • Marie Antoinette Katoto - Paris Saint-Germain
  • Millie Bright - Chelsea
  • Trinity Rodman - Washington Spirit
  • Ada Hegerberg - Lyon

Who is nominated for the 2022 Kopa Trophy?

The Kopa Trophy is given to the best performing player under the age of 21 and is currently held by Barça's Pedri.

Among the favourites for the award from the official 2022 shortlist are Jude Bellingham, Bukayo Saka, Gavi and Eduardo Camavinga.

Bellingham is joined on the shortlist by Dortmund teammate Karim Adeyemi, with a further four players from the Bundesliga.

2022 Kopa Trophy nominees

  • Karim Adeyemi - Borussia Dortmund
  • Jude Bellingham - Borussia Dortmund
  • Eduardo Camavinga - Real Madrid
  • Gavi - Barcelona
  • Ryan Gravenberch - Bayern Munich
  • Nuno Mendes - Paris Saint-Germain
  • Jamal Musiala - Bayern Munich
  • Josko Gvardiol - RB Leipzig
  • Bukayo Saka - Arsenal
  • Florian Wirtz - Bayer Leverkusen

The award was cancelled in 2020 due to the Covid-19 pandemic and was only established in 2018, being won previously by Kylian Mbappe and Matthijs de Ligt.

It is a different award to the Golden Boy, which is organised by Tuttosport and established in 2003.

Who is nominated for the 2022 Yashin Trophy?

The Yashin Trophy is awarded to the best performing goalkeeper and named after USSR great Lev Yashin.

It is currently held by Gianluigi Donnarumma, who played a key role in Italy's triumph at Euro 2020.

Among the nominated goalkeepers for the 2022 title are Real Madrid stopper Thibaut Courtois, Bayern Munich stalwart Manuel Neuer and Liverpool's Alisson.

2022 Yashin Trophy nominees

  • Yassine Bounou - Sevilla
  • Alisson - Liverpool
  • Thibaut Courtois - Real Madrid
  • Ederson - Manchester City
  • Mike Maignan - AC Milan
  • Edouard Mendy - Chelsea
  • Manuel Neuer - Bayern Munich
  • Jan Oblak - Atletico Madrid
  • Kevin Trapp - Eintracht Frankfurt
  • Hugo Lloris - Tottenham

How to watch the Ballon d'Or 2022 on TV or live stream

Viewers will be able to watch the 2022 ceremony on L'Equipe's YouTube channel. Full broadcast information will be announced closer to the date.