Vlatko Andonovski names 59 players to the USWNT preliminary roster

Lizzy Becherano
Vlatko Andonovski named 59 players to preliminary roster for the upcoming Concacaf W Championship.
Vlatko Andonovski named 59 players to preliminary roster for the upcoming Concacaf W Championship. / Emilee Chinn/GettyImages

US women’s national team head coach Vlatko Andonovski named 59 players to the preliminary roster for the upcoming Concacaf W Championship.

The list included a varied mix of veteran and young figures as the USWNT works to exert their international dominance in next month’s competition. The Concacaf W Championship will run from July 4 to July 18 in Honduras, giving nations the opportunity to qualify to the World Cup and 2024 Paris Olympics. 

Several key figures are missing from the large list, with regulars Abby Dahlkemper, Catarina Macario, Tierna Davidson, Lynn Williams and Sam Mewis out due to injury. Crystal Dunn is also unable after having recently given birth. 

Though Angel City forward Christen Press was included in the preliminary roster, her place might now be at risk after exiting Saturday’s match against Racing Louisville in the 64th minute with an apparent knee injury.

While Press' absence would be a huge setback for the team, Andonovski can tap into strikers Alex Morgan, Mallory Pugh, Sophia Smith, or Ashley Hatch to complete the job in Honduras. Luckily, crucial regulars like Lindsey Horan and Tobin Heath will also return to international duty. 

Here’s the full USWNT preliminary roster:


  • Bella Bixby
  • Jane Campbell
  • Adrianna Franch
  • Aubrey Kingsbury
  • Casey Murphy
  • Alyssa Naeher 
  • Phallon Tullis-Joyce


  • Alana Cook
  • Imani Dorsey
  • Caprice Dydasco
  • Emily Fox
  • Naomi Girma
  • Sam Hiatt
  • Sofia Huerta
  • Alex Loera
  • Hailie Mace
  • Emily Mason
  • Merritt Mathias
  • Kristen McNabb
  • Emily Menges
  • Kelley O’Hara
  • Carson Pickett
  • Becky Sauerbrunn
  • Emily Sonnett
  • Sam Staab


  • Croix Bethune
  • Mikayla Cluff
  • Sam Coffey
  • Savannah DeMelo
  • Vanessa DiBernardo
  • Lindsey Horan
  • Jaelin Howell
  • Taylor Kornieck
  • Rose Lavelle
  • Emily Madril
  • Savannah McCaskill
  • Kristie Mewis
  • Jenna Nighswonger
  • Ashley Sanchez
  • Andi Sullivan
  • Dani Weatherholt


  • Bethany Balcer
  • Michelle Cooper
  • Kristen Hamilton
  • Ashley Hatch
  • Tobin Heath
  • Cece Kizer
  • Sydney Leroux
  • Jessica McDonald
  • Alex Morgan
  • Christen Press
  • Mallory Pugh
  • Margaret Purce
  • Megan Rapinoe
  • Trinity Rodman
  • Sophia Smith
  • Alyssa Thompson
  • Ally Watt
  • Morgan Weaver