USWNT name 23-player roster for 2022 SheBelieves Cup

Lizzy Becherano
Vlatko Andonovski names 23-player USWNT roster for SheBelieves Cup
Vlatko Andonovski names 23-player USWNT roster for SheBelieves Cup / Brad Smith/ISI Photos/GettyImages

USWNT head coach Vlatko Andonovski has named a 23-player roster for the 2022 SheBelieves Cup.

The tournament will feature the United States, Czech Republic, New Zealand and Iceland, with six matches to be played over three double header events from February 17 to 23 in California and Texas. 

The American roster is made up almost entirely of players who attended the USWNT January training camp in Austin, Texas, with the exception of Catarina Macario and Becky Sauerbrunn, who missed the event due to an existing club commitment and injury respectively.

“We had a great camp in Austin and now we need to see this group of players in game environments against highly-motivated opponents,” said Andonovski. 

“Every player in the pool is focused on making the roster for World Cup and Olympic qualifying this summer, and every training session and especially every match is a means to that end for them, and for the coaching staff.

"The SheBelieves Cup is also a great opportunity to help prepare for rhythm of group play at the Concacaf W Championship as we have to face three different opponents and different styles of play over a short period of time.”

USWNT 23-player roster - 2022 SheBelieves Cup

GOALKEEPERS (3): Aubrey Kingsbury (Washington Spirit), Casey Murphy (North Carolina Courage), Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)

DEFENDERS (8): Alana Cook (OL Reign), Abby Dahlkemper (San Diego Wave FC), Tierna Davidson (Chicago Red Stars), Emily Fox (Racing Louisville FC), Sofia Huerta (OL Reign), Kelley O’Hara (Washington Spirit), Emily Sonnett (Washington Spirit), Becky Sauerbrunn (Portland Thorns FC)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Morgan Gautrat (Chicago Red Stars), Lindsey Horan (Olympique Lyonnais, FRA), Rose Lavelle (OL Reign), Catarina Macario (Olympique Lyonnais, FRA), Kristie Mewis (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Ashley Sanchez (Washington Spirit), Andi Sullivan (Washington Spirit)

FORWARDS (5): Ashley Hatch (Washington Spirit), Mallory Pugh (Chicago Red Stars), Margaret Purce (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Sophia Smith (Portland Thorns FC), Lynn Williams (Kansas City Current)