USMNT: World Cup qualifier schedule released

Lizzy Becherano
FIFA 2018 World Cup Qualifier against Trinidad & Tobago
FIFA 2018 World Cup Qualifier against Trinidad & Tobago / Ashley Allen/Getty Images

The United States men’s national team journey to the 2022 Qatar World Cup is set. After the conclusion of the second round of qualifiers, Concacaf released the schedule for the octagonal phase. 

The final batch of qualifiers will see the USMNT battling Mexico, Canada, Honduras, Costa Rica and Jamaica for a coveted spot in the world’s biggest international football tournament. Though the dates were predetermined, the countries playing the matches were not. 

This last week determined the last spots in the final round of qualifiers. Canada beat Haiti 3-0  in Chicago to book their place in the Octagon and become one step closer to making their first appearance in the World Cup since 1986. El Salvador stood as the last team to qualify for the final round after defeating St. Kitts & Nevis 4-0 last week and 2-0 in the second leg. 

The eight teams will play two legs for a total of 14 qualifying matches. The top three teams of this final round will qualify directly to the World Cup in Qatar, while the fourth place team travels to the intercontinental playoff in June 2022. In years prior, the final round of qualifiers featured six teams, but this year Concacaf expanded the format to accommodate the suspension of international windows due to Covid-19. While venues are still to be determined, the schedule for the United States men’s national team was revealed.

USMNT World Cup qualifiers schedule

September 2, 2021: @ El Salvador

September 5, 2021: vs. Canada

September 8, 2021: @ Honduras

October 7, 2021: vs. Jamaica

October 10, 2021: @ Panama

October 13, 2021: vs. Costa Rica

November 12, 2021: vs. Mexico

November 16, 2021: @ Jamaica

January 27, 2022: vs. El Salvador

January 30, 2022: @ Canada

February 2, 2022: vs. Honduras

March 24, 2022: @ Mexico

March 27, 2022: vs. Panama

March 30, 2022: @ Costa Rica