US Open Cup: Third-round draw groups set as MLS teams enter competition

Chris Smith
Atlanta United were the most recent Open Cup winners in 2019.
Atlanta United were the most recent Open Cup winners in 2019. / Carmen Mandato/GettyImages

The groups for the US Open Cup third round draw have been set, with the teams from Major League Soccer coming a little closer to knowing their opponents.

MLS clubs will enter the tournament in the next stage, with the most recent winners Atlanta United - who beat Minnesota United in the 2019 final - finally looking to defend their title.

The third round teams will be pooled geographically in groups of four or six, with MLS teams distributed across the pools as evenly as possible. MLS teams and teams with shared ownership or affiliation cannot be drawn against each other.

The draw will be made on Friday, April 8 at 12pm ET.

Here are the groups for the third round draw:

1. North-east (6)

  • DC United (MLS)
  • FC Motown (NPSL)
  • Flower City Union (NISA)
  • Hartford Athletic (USLC)
  • New York Red Bulls (MLS)
  • Rochester New York FC (MLSNP)

2. Piedmont (4)

  • Charlotte FC (MLS)
  • Greenville Triumph SC (USLL1)
  • North Carolina Fusion U23 (USLL2)
  • Richmond Kickers (USLL1)

3. South-east (4)

  • Atlanta United (MLS)
  • Birmingham Legion FC (USLC)
  • Chattanooga Football Club (NISA)
  • South Georgia Tormenta FC (USLL1)

4. Florida (4)

  • Inter Miami CF (MLS)
  • Miami FC (USLC)
  • Orlando City SC (MLS)
  • Tampa Bay Rowdies (USLC)

5. Central (4)

  • Columbus Crew (MLS)
  • Detroit City FC (USLC)
  • FC Cincinnati (MLS)
  • Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC (USLC)

6. North (6)

  • Chicago Fire FC (MLS)
  • Forward Madison FC (USLL1)
  • Louisville City FC (USLC)
  • Minnesota United (MLS)
  • St. Louis City 2 (MLSNP)
  • Union Omaha (USLL1)

7. Texas (6)

  • Austin FC (MLS)
  • FC Dallas (MLS)
  • FC Tulsa (USLC)
  • Houston Dynamo (MLS)
  • Rio Grande Valley FC Toros (USLC)
  • San Antonio FC (USLC)

8. Mountain (4)

  • New Mexico United (USLC)
  • Northern Colorado Hailstorm FC (USLL1)
  • Phoenix Rising FC (USLC)
  • Real Salt Lake (MLS)

9. Northern California (4)

  • Bay Cities FC (NISA)
  • Central Valley Fuego FC (USLL1)
  • Sacramento Republic FC (USLC)
  • San Jose Earthquakes (MLS)

10. Southern California (6)

  • California United Strikers FC (NISA)
  • FC Tucson (USLL1)
  • LA Galaxy (MLS)
  • LAFC (MLS)
  • Orange County SC (USLC)
  • San Diego Loyal SC (USLC)

Colorado Rapids, Nashville SC, New England Revolution, New York City FC, Philadelphia Union, Portland Timbers, Seattle Sounders, and Sporting Kansas City will all enter the draw in the fourth round.

Toronto FC, CF Montreal, and Vancouver Whitecaps are not eligible for the US Open Cup, instead competiting in the Canadian Championship.