UEFA Euro 2020

Spain name 17-man alternative Euro 2020 squad after coronavirus outbreak

Matt O'Connor-Simpson
Jun 9, 2021, 12:20 PM GMT+1
Spain's original squad could be barred from competing at Euro 2020
Spain's original squad could be barred from competing at Euro 2020 / FRANCK FIFE/Getty Images

Spain have named an alternative Euro 2020 squad that will train in a parallel bubble to the main team where there has been a Covid-19 outbreak.

On Sunday it was announced captain Sergio Busquets had returned a positive coronavirus test and soon after Leeds United defender Diego Llorente was also ruled out.

The outbreak prevented the original Spain squad from playing their scheduled friendly against Lithuania on Tuesday. Instead the Under-21 side, who recently reached the semi-finals of the European Championship, were called up in their place.

The weakened side performed excellently, strolling to a 4-0 victory thanks to goals from Hugo Guillamon, Brahim Diaz, Juan Miranda and Javi Puado.

With the consequences of Busquets and Llorente's positive tests still uncertain the RFEF have now announced that 11 of the players who took part on Monday would remain in contention for Euro 2020.

Alongside six senior stand-by players - Kepa Arrizabalaga, Raul Albiol, Rodrigo Moreno, Carlos Soler, Brais Mendez and Pablo Fornals - they will form a 17-man parallel training bubble. Should the original squad be prevented from competing due to the coronavirus outbreak, this group would likely form La Roja's squad for the tournament.

If this does happen Spain would still stand a good chance of progressing. As well as several solid senior players, the young guns called up include Barcelona centre back Oscar Mingueza, Real Madrid's Brahim Diaz and Getafe wideman Marc Cucurella.

They kick off their Euro 2020 campaign against Sweden on Monday 14 June, before facing Poland and Slovakia in Group E.

Spain's full parallel training bubble for Euro 2020

Goalkeepers: Kepa Arrizabalaga (Chelsea), Alvaro Fernandez (Huesca)

Defenders: Raul Albiol (Villarreal), Oscar Mingueza (Barcelona), Juan Miranda (Real Betis), Alejandro Pozo (Eibar)

Midfielders: Marc Cucurella (Getafe) Pablo Fornals (West Ham), Brais Mendez (Celta de Vigo), Carlos Soler (Valencia), Brahim Diaz (Milan), Martin Zubimendi (Real Sociedad), Gonzalo Villar (Roma)

Forwards: Rodrigo Moreno (Leeds United), Bryan Gil (Eibar), Yeremi Pino (Villarreal), Javi Puedo (Espanyol)