Sarina Wiegman wins consecutive Euro titles with two different countries

Sarina Wiegman is a European Championship legend
Sarina Wiegman is a European Championship legend / Robbie Jay Barratt - AMA/GettyImages

Sarina Wiegman is the first coach to win consecutive European Championship titles with two different countries after adding Euro 2022 glory with England to her previous Euro 2017 success with Netherlands five years ago.

Wiegman has a perfect record of 12 wins from 12 games at Euro tournaments. Her Netherlands side won all six of their fixtures in 2017 and England have repeated that feat this summer.

The Dutch coach helped put Netherlands on the map in 2017. They had only qualified for the World Cup for the first time in 2015 and she was appointed, initially as an interim, in 2016.

Wiegman also guided Netherlands to the World Cup final in 2019, making her an obvious choice for the FA to take England to the next level when they were looking for a permanent replacement for Phil Neville. England were so keen that the deal was announced a year before Wiegman was due to take over, seeing out the remainder of her Netherlands contract until August 2021.

Her short time with England so far has been nothing short of incredible, quickly putting her stamp on an already talented squad that had started to underachieve in the years since 2019.

The Lionesses scored 53 goals in her first six games, including a 20-0 win over Latvia. The Arnold Clark Cup in February posed some questions against tougher opposition, but England still came out on top and then put down a statement 5-1 win over Netherlands just before Euro 2022.

England showed their quality throughout the tournament, cruising through the group stage and even putting together a record-breaking 8-0 win against Norway. They needed extra-time against Spain after a late equaliser from Ella Toone, but then thrashed Sweden in the semi-finals.

The final against Germany was a tense and evenly balanced affair. Toone put England fans in dreamland with her spectacular opener, before Lina Magull equalised for Germany. Chloe Kelly then popped up with the winner in extra-time to make history for both England and Wiegman.

For more from Jamie Spencer, follow him on Twitter and Facebook!