Ballon d'Or

Robert Lewandowski wins Striker of the Year, Chelsea win Club of the Year

Matt O'Connor-Simpson
A deserved triumph for Lewandowski
A deserved triumph for Lewandowski / Aurelien Meunier/GettyImages

Robert Lewandowski has won the brand new Striker of the Year award at the 2021 Ballon d'Or ceremony, while Chelsea have been handed the title of best club.

Lewandowski has netted 64 goals in 2021, more than any other player on the planet, in what has been a record-breaking 12 months for the Poland international.

He finished the 2020/21 campaign with a staggering 41 Bundesliga strikes, bettering Gerd Muller's all-time best tally that many assumed would never be beaten.

Lewandowski's goals helped Die Roten storm to a ninth successive German top-flight title, as well as win the Club World Cup. They might have gone further in the Champions League this year too, if the centre-forward had not missed their quarter-final tie with Paris Saint-Germain.

Winning Striker of the Year partly made up for Lewandowski being beaten to the main prize by Lionel Messi. He was also disappointed last year when the awards were cancelled. If they had gone ahead, the striker would have almost certainly won.

Meanwhile, Chelsea were also popping the champagne after being handed the first ever award for the best club of the year.

The Blues excelled on both the men's and women's side. Thomas Tuchel's charges triumphed in the 2021 Champions League final, securing a well-fought 1-0 win over Manchester City and also registered a top-four finish.

Success was not confirmed to the men's team. Emma Hayes' women won the Women's Super League title and reached the Champions League final, where they were dispatched 4-0 by Barcelona.

Winning Club of the Year capped off a fine night for the Blues. Edouard Mendy claimed second spot in the Yachine Trophy, Jorginho was third in the Ballon d'Or, while Sam Kerr also made the podium for the Ballon d'Or Feminin.

For more from Matt O’Connor-Simpson, follow him on Twitter!