Premier League

Premier League Young Player of the Season shortlist - 2021/22

Jude Summerfield
Alexander-Arnold is up for the award
Alexander-Arnold is up for the award / Michael Regan/GettyImages

The Premier League has confirmed the nominees for its 2021/22 Young Player of the Season award, with Trent Alexander-Arnold and Phil Foden among those up for the gong.

Alexander-Arnold's Liverpool are chasing a quadruple, though Foden's Manchester City are well placed to retain their Premier League crown.

Chelsea's Mason Mount, West Ham midfielder Declan Rice, Arsenal pair Aaron Ramsdale and Bukayo Saka and Crystal Palace duo Conor Gallagher and Tyrick Mitchell make up the eight-player shortlist.

Foden, who won the award last season, has netted nine goals alongside five assists for City, being a regular feature in an otherwise fluid lineup under Pep Guardiola.

Alexander-Arnold continues to wow with his creative abilities from right back, setting up 12 goals. His Liverpool side have only conceded 24 efforts this season, second only to City's 22.

Rice has developed an attacking side to his game with West Ham this season, breaking forward from midfield expertly and receiving plenty of admiring glances from the Premier League's elite.

Ramsdale has put previous Premier League relegations behind him to improve dramatically at Arsenal, making some spectacular saves. Teammate Saka has taken up the Gunners' attacking mantle, registering 11 goals and six assists as his side target Champions League football.

23-year-old Mount continues to have a major influence with Chelsea, managing double figures in both goals and assists.

Gallagher has had a breakout year at Palace having impressed with West Brom last year, bringing a goal threat to the Eagles' attack. Mitchell's defensive contributions at Selhurst Park have also been recognised. Both players were capped by England for the first time earlier this season.

  • Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
  • Phil Foden (Manchester City)
  • Conor Gallagher (Crystal Palace)
  • Tyrick Mitchell (Crystal Palace)
  • Mason Mount (Chelsea)
  • Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)
  • Declan Rice (West Ham)
  • Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)