Major League Soccer

National Soccer Hall of Fame expands class size for 2022 vote

Lizzy Becherano
National Soccer Hall of Fame to update rules regarding elections
National Soccer Hall of Fame to update rules regarding elections / Alika Jenner/Getty Images

The National Soccer Hall of Fame announced an updated version of their election and eligibility process that would see an increase in the annual class size from four inductees to six starting in 2022. 

The new rules were approved by the NSHOF Board of Directors to make it possible for a third candidate from the Player ballot and a second candidate from the Veteran ballot to be elected. 

“We believe these changes are necessary as we continue to evolve the election policies and procedures,” NSHOF executive director Djorn Buchholz said in a statement. “Our goal is to honor those that have given the greatest contribution to our game in this country and these changes certainly send us further down that path.”

This new format marks a sudden change from the one adopted prior to the 2021 election, in which only four inducted could be elected into the honored class. 

This year’s induction ceremony is set for Saturday, October 2 at Toyota Stadium, and includes Christie Pearce Rampone, Steve Cherundolo, Jaime Moreno and Kevin Payne.

The 2020 class will also be inducted on that date after last year’s ceremony was postponed due to COVID-19, honoring Carlos Bocanegra and Colin Jose Media Award honoree Andrés Cantor.

The National Soccer Hall of Fame is located at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas, home to MLS team FC Dallas. 

Past inductees include LAFC manager Bob Bradely, Abby Wambach, Mia Hamm and Sporting Kansas City head coach Peter Vermes.