World News

Mexico announces 38-player roster for upcoming June window

Lizzy Becherano
Gerardo Martino announces 38-player roster for upcoming June games.
Gerardo Martino announces 38-player roster for upcoming June games. / Hector Vivas/GettyImages

Mexican national team head coach Gerardo Martino announced the 38-player roster taking part in the June exhibition games and Concacaf Nations League matches, with Raul Jimenez and Erick Gutierrez headlining the list.

El Tri will face Nigeria, Uruguay and Ecuador first in the United States as the Mexican side prepares for the upcoming 2022 FIFA World Cup. The team will then redirect their focus to the Concacaf tournament, hosting Suriname on June 11 before traveling to Jamaica three days later.

Arsenal’s Marcelo Flores earned his first call up since committing his international future to Mexico, announcing his allegiance over Canada and England earlier this month. Gerardo Martino included several young players in the squad to be led by the experienced Guillermo Ochoa, Hector Herrera and Hector Moreno.

Noticeably missing from the list is Napoli player Hirving Lozano, who will miss the upcoming fixtures to undergo shoulder surgery.

Mexico roster for June internationals


  • Carlos Acevedo
  • Rodolfo Cota
  • Guillermo Ochoa 
  • Alfredo Talavera


  • Erick Aguirre
  • Kevin Álvarez
  • Jesús Angulo
  • Julián Araujo
  • Néstor Araujo
  • Gerardo Arteaga
  • Julio Domínguez
  • Jesús Gallardo
  • César Montes
  • Héctor Moreno
  • Israel Reyes
  • Jorge Sánchez 
  • Johan Vásquez


  •  Edson Álvarez
  • Roberto Alvarado
  • Uriel Antuna
  • Fernando Beltrán
  • Luis Chávez
  • Sebastián Córdova
  • Erick Gutiérrez
  • Andrés Guardado
  • Héctor Herrera
  • Diego Lainez
  • Erick Lira
  • Erick Sánchez
  • Orbelín Pineda
  • Rodolfo Pizarro 
  • Luis Romo


  • Jesús Corona
  • Marcelo Flores
  • Santiago Giménez
  • Raúl Jiménez
  • Henry Martin 
  • Alexis Vega