Manchester United Name 25-Man Premier League Squad

Oct 20, 2020, 6:35 PM GMT+1
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer
Solskjaer's Premier League squad has been confirmed | Pool/Getty Images

Manchester United have confirmed their 25-man Premier League squad, omitting Phil Jones and Sergio Romero but including Marcos Rojo.

Neither Romero or Jones have featured for Ole Gunnar Solskjaer's side in the opening weeks of the 2020/21 campaign, amid high competition for places in defence and in goal. The Red Devils haven't needed to register Mason Greenwood, Brandon Williams or Facundo Pellistri either, owing to Premier League regulations regarding players under 21 years old.

Sergio Romero
Romero has not been included by United | James Williamson - AMA/Getty Images

Leaving Romero out is perhaps not a surprise given the breakdown in his relationship with United, stemming from the club's decision to block a summer move to Everton. The Argentine goalkeeper has long served as understudy to David de Gea, but it was widely expected that he'd be allowed to leave Old Trafford following Dean Henderson's return from his loan spell at Sheffield United.

But a move failed to materialise as United did not want to strengthen another Premier League side, prompting a furious public outburst from Romero's wife, who denounced the club's lack of respect. Previously, he had been been a reliable figure in domestic cup competitions and in Europe, keeping a remarkable 39 clean sheets in just 61 appearances for United.

As for Jones, he's been a peripheral figure at Old Trafford for some time, and it's no surprise to see the former Blackburn academy graduate left out of United's plans. He does, however, appear to lack potential destinations for a transfer, with little to no interest reported during the summer window. His loss is also Rojo's gain, with the Argentine included despite ongoing talk of a move away.

Marcos Rojo, Phil Jones
Jones is out, but Rojo has made the cut | Clive Brunskill/Getty Images

25-Man Squad in Full

Main List

David De Gea (GK)
Eric Bailly (DF)
Victor Lindelof (DF)
Marcos Rojo (DF)
Alex Telles (DF)
Bruno Fernandes (MF)
Fred (MF)
Juan Mata (MF)
Nemanja Matic (MF)
Donny van de Beek (MF)
Edinson Cavani (FW)
Odion Ighalo (FW)
Anthony Martial (FW)

Homegrown List

Lee Grant (GK)
Dean Henderson (GK)
Timothy Fosu-Mensah (DF)
Harry Maguire (DF)
Luke Shaw (DF)
Axel Tuanzebe (DF)
Aaron Wan-Bissaka (DF)
Scott McTominay (MF)
Paul Pogba (MF)
Daniel James (FW)
Jesse Lingard (FW)
Marcus Rashford (FW)

Under-21 List (No Registration Required)

Teden Mengi (DF)
Brandon Williams (DF)
Mason Greenwood (FW)
Facundo Pellistri (FW)