Major League Soccer

Liga MX announce first 14 players that will face MLS in All-Star Game

Chris Smith
Tigres forward Andre-Pierre Gignac headlines the Liga MX team.
Tigres forward Andre-Pierre Gignac headlines the Liga MX team. / Reinhold Matay-USA TODAY Sports

Liga MX have announced the first 14 players who will take part in 2022 All-Star game against MLS.

The top players from both leagues will face off at Minnesota United's Allianz Field stadium on Wednesday, August 10.

Headlining this first batch of players are the likes of Tigres striker Andre-Pierre Gignac and current Mexico internationals Kevin Alvarez and Luis Chavez. Each of the first 14 selections are nominees for Liga MX's Balón de Oro awards within the categories of best goalkeeper, central defender, fullback, defensive midfielder, attacking midfielder, forward, and rookie.

The complete roster will be revealed following the Balón de Oro ceremony on June 25, when the Coach of the Season award winner will be announced.

The recipitent of that award - either Diego Cocca from Atlas FC or Guillermo Almada from C.F. Pachuca - will select the remainder of the roster, with the exception of the 26th player, who will be selected by executive president of Liga MX, Mikel Arriola.

Here is the initial 14-man roster:

1. Goalkeepers

  • Camilo Vargas, Atlas FC (Clausura 2022 best eleven, LIGA MX 2022 Clausura MVP)
  • Oscar Alfredo Ustari, C.F. Pachuca (Best goalkeeper nominee)

2. Defenders

  • William Tesillo, Club León Hugo Nervo, Atlas FC (Clausura 2022 best eleven, Best central defender nominee) 
  • Hugo Nervo, Atlas FC (Clausura 2022 best eleven, Best central defender nominee)
  • Diego Barbosa, Atlas FC (Best full-back nominee) 
  • Kevin Álvarez, Club Puebla (Clausura 2022 best eleven, Best full-back nominee)

3. Midfielders

  • Aldo Rocha, Atlas FC (Clausura 2022 best eleven, Best defensive midfielder nominee)
  • Luis Chávez, C.F. Pachuca (Best defensive midfielder nominee)
  • Ángel Mena, Club León (Best attacking midfielder nominee)
  • Julián Quiñones, Atlas FC (Clausura 2022 best eleven, Best attacking midfielder nominee)

4. Forwards

  • André-Pierre Gignac, Tigres UANL (Clausura 2022 best eleven, Liga MX 2022 Clausura Golden Boot recipient, Best forward nominee)
  • Julio César Furch, Atlas FC (Best forward nominee)

5. Rookies

  • Jordan Carrillo, Club Santos Laguna (Best rookie nominee)
  • Heriberto Jurado, Club Necaxa (Best rookie nominee)