Liga MX

Jorge Sanchez officially joins Eredivisie's Ajax

Lizzy Becherano
Jorge Sanchez joins Ajax.
Jorge Sanchez joins Ajax. / James Williamson - AMA/GettyImages

Defender Jorge Sanchez has officially signed for Ajax Amsterdam, joining the Eredivisie side on a four year contract.  

He will join the team immediately.

Club America confirmed the imminent transfer on August 7, before the player traveled abroad for medicals and paperwork. He departs the Liga MX side after four years, where he won the league title in 2018 and lifted the Campeon de Campeones trophy in 2019.

"[I'm] motivated because going to Europe is not so easy. I'm thinking about my future and about the Mexican national team,” Sanchez said before going to Ajax. 

"There’s a lot of happiness, a lot of motivation, but a lot of responsibility too, going to Ajax is a unique opportunity, a golden opportunity to do things well, yes or yes, to reach the World Cup at the top and win a place," he said.

Sanchez also thanked his teammates on the 2020 Olympic team, who he won the Bronze medal with, crediting them and Club America for propelling his move abroad.

​​"Those of us who went to the Olympics have said it, that in that group there were many players who had the ability to go to Europe and now, thank God, little by little the doors have been opened to more Mexicans and we hope to God that the clubs will always support us as America supported me now. They support us because the more Mexicans there are, the more we help the team because of the level there is," he concluded.

Sanchez will now join a familiar face at Ajax as he reunites with El Tri teammate Edson Alvarez, who arrived at the Dutch side in 2019 from Club America. The two played together at Club America for one year before Alvarez moved abroad. 

The defender also stands as the latest Mexican to join the Eredivisie, coming in after Santiago Gimenez finalized a four-year contract with Feyenoord from Cruz Azul in early August. The Dutch league now boasts four Mexico national team players, with Alvarez, Sanchez, Gimenez and PSV Eindhoven's Erick Gutierrez all competing for the trophy.