Indian Football

India face Jordan in their last warm-up match ahead of AFC Asian Cup qualifiers

Mudeet Arora
The Indian football team is back in action
The Indian football team is back in action / Pakawich Damrongkiattisak/GettyImages

The Indian national football team will take on Jordan in a friendly match on May 28, 2022 in what will be their last preparatory game ahead of their AFC Asian Cup 2023 qualifiers kicking off in Kolkata from June 8.

The game against Jordan will be played at the Qatar Sports Club and will kick-off at 9:30pm Indian Standard Time on Saturday.

The Indian national team coach Igor Stimac spoke ahead of this game and told the AIFF, "Another game against a stronger team will always help.

"It’s our last friendly game prior to qualifiers, and we need to get final answers on certain question. Some of our youngsters will have a great opportunity to gain more experience at international level."

Speaking about the team's fitness ahead of the games, Stimac said, "The fitness levels are quite good. We have another 10 days in front of us, and it should be perfect. The boys have done a great job, and they need to be rewarded with some good results in the Qualifiers."

Talking about Jordan, Stimac opined, "Jordan (FIFA Ranking 91) are ranked better than Belarus (FIFA Ranking 93) but are not as physical as Belarus. So for us it should be a bit easier in regards to the build-up, and ball possession."

A good news for Stimac would be the arrival of the ATK Mohun Bagan players in the national team after a tiring but successful AFC Cup run as they qualified for the next stage.

The 25-member squad for the match is as follows:

GOALKEEPERS: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Laxmikanth Kattimani, Amrinder Singh.

DEFENDERS: Rahul Bheke, Pritam Kotal, Harmanjot Singh Khabra, Anwar Ali, Sandesh Jhingan, Subhashish Bose, Roshan Singh, Akash Mishra.

MIDFIELDERS: Udanta Singh, Jeakson Singh, Anirudh Thapa, Glan Martins, Brandon Fernandes, Ritwik Das, Yasir Mohammad, Sahal Abdul Samad, Suresh Wangjam, Ashique Kuruniyan, Liston Colaco.

FORWARDS: Ishan Pandita, Sunil Chhetri, Manvir Singh.