Indian Football

India's AFC Asian Cup qualifiers: Where to watch, fixtures, date and match timings

Mudeet Arora
The Indian football team will take part in their AFC Asian Cup qualifiers this month
The Indian football team will take part in their AFC Asian Cup qualifiers this month / Indian Football Team - Twitter

The Indian football team will be vying to qualify for a successive AFC Asian Cup in 2023 by performing well in the qualifers this month.

The Blue Tigers will be among 24 countries who will fight in the qualifiers for the remaining 11 spots for the competition scheduled to take place next year.

The 24 remaining teams will be spilit into six groups of four teams each with every team playing the remaining three teams in their group once. The winner of the groups will earn a spot in the group stage of the AFC Asian Cup next year.

Six group winners will join the already qualified 13 teams and five best second placed teams will later join them for the main draw of the tournament.

India form part of Group D alongside Hong Kong, Afghanistan and Cambodia and will play out their group fixtures at the Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata.

Here's everything you need to know about these qualifiers for the Indian national team:

India's squad for the qualifiers:

Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Laxmikanth Kattimani, Amrinder Singh.

Defenders: Rahul Bheke, Akash Mishra, Harmanjot Singh Khabra, Roshan Singh, Anwar Ali, Sandesh Jhingan, Subhashish Bose, Pritam Kotal.

Midfielders: Jeakson Singh, Anirudh Thapa, Glan Martins, Brandon Fernandes, Deepak Tangri, Udanta Singh, Yasir Mohammad, Sahal Abdul Samad, Suresh Wangjam, Ashique Kuruniyan, Liston Colaco.

Forwards: Ishan Pandita, Sunil Chhetri, Manvir Singh.

Where to watch AFC Asian Cup qualifers in India?

The Star Sports Network will telecast the qualifers live on Star Sports 3 in India, while Disney+ Hotstar will be destination for live streaming.

AFC Asian Cup qualifiers Group D fixtures, date and time in India

June 8 - Hong Kong vs Afghanistan - 5pm IST

June 8 - India vs Cambodia - 8:30pm IST

June 11 - Cambodia vs Hong Kong - 5pm IST

June 11 - India vs Afghanistan - 8:30pm IST

June 14 - Afghanistan vs Cambodia - 5pm IST

June 14 - India vs Hong Kong - 8:30pm IST