How many substitutions can teams make in 2021/22 Carabao Cup

Tom Gott
The Carabao Cup has new rules
The Carabao Cup has new rules / Julian Finney/GettyImages

The EFL have confirmed that the number of substitutes permitted in the 2021/22 Carabao Cup has been raised from three to five following numerous requests from the teams remaining in the competition.

The first three rounds of the cup were played with the traditional rules, with managers allowed to name seven substitutes and bring three of those on to the pitch.

However, after 14 of the 16 sides remaining in the competition asked to return to the five substitutes which were permitted in 2020/21 season to cope with the busy schedule of post-lockdown life, the EFL have now confirmed the rule has been amended.

What did the EFL say about changing the substitution rules for the Carabao Cup?

"Following a proposal from 14 of the 16 Clubs remaining in this season’s Carabao Cup, the EFL can confirm Clubs will be permitted to make five substitutions from the nine they nominate for the remainder of the 2021/22 competition," a statement read.

"After consultation between the EFL Board, the Premier League and the two non-signatory Clubs, an amendment has been made to Competition Rule 10.1.

"The amendment comes into effect ahead of the next round of ties which will take place during the week commencing Monday 25 October 2021.

"The change was made after consideration of the proposal which highlighted concerns of a demanding fixture schedule over the coming months."

Just as before, those five substitutes must be made during three breaks in play, so as not to disrupt the flow of the game. However, in the second leg of the semi-final and then the final, an extra break in play will be permitted if the games go to extra-time.

The fourth round of the Carabao Cup gets underway later in late October, with the lucky eight winners advancing to the quarter-finals which will be held across 21 and 22 December.

The semi-finals will be held soon after across the first two weeks of January, before the showpiece finale takes place at Wembley on 27 February.