FIFA 23 Team of the Year - revealed

Karim Benzema made the cut
Karim Benzema made the cut / FAYEZ NURELDINE/GettyImages

EA Sports FIFA have announced their highly-anticipated Team of the Year, as voted for by fans of the football's game franchise.

Fans were asked to pick a starting XI from a shortlist of the world's top 100 footballers - a shortlist which included everyone from Iago Aspas to Lionel Messi.

So without further, here's who was chosen:

FIFA 23 Team of the Year

GK - Thibaut Courtois - A UEFA Champions League winner in 2022, Courtois cemented himself as an all-time great over the last 12 months.

RB - Achraf Hakimi - With Trent Alexander-Arnold not impressing as much as he has in previous years, Hakimi took the crown as 'best right-back in the world' in 2022.

CB - Virgil van Dijk - Imperious in the first half of 2022...not so much in the second.

CB - Eder Militao - Surprisingly made the cut ahead of his centre-back partner David Alaba.

LB - Theo Hernandez - One of the best attacking full-backs around, Theo Hernandez was key to Milan winning their first Scudetto in a decade.

Planet League's Rich Holmes & Sustainable Clarets' Cat Jebson join Shebahn Aherne to have football's climate conversation ahead of Green Football Weekend.

If you can’t see this embed, click here to listen to the podcast!

CM - Kevin De Bruyne - Outrageously brilliant for Manchester City in 2022, and 2021, and 2020 etc.

CM - Luka Modric - Now 37, it's rather remarkable that Luka Modric is still this good.

CM - Jude Bellingham - The England star went to another level in 2022 at BVB and is surely set for a mega-money move in the summer.

CF - Lionel Messi - Finally added a FIFA World Cup to his trophy cabinet and proved he's the best player of all time. That's a pretty decent 2022.

CF - Karim Benzema - There was no better player in the world at the tailend of the 2022/23 season. Almost single-handedly dragged Real Madrid to another CL crown.

ST - Kylian Mbappe - He deserved to be in this team for his hat-trick in the World Cup final alone.