UEFA announce Euro 2020 Team of the Tournament

Tom Gott
Raheem Sterling features in UEFA's Team of the Tournament
Raheem Sterling features in UEFA's Team of the Tournament / Marc Atkins/Getty Images

UEFA have decided on their Team of the Tournament for Euro 2020, with five representatives from winners Italy making the cut.

With goalkeeper Gianluigi Donnarumma winning the award for the tournament's best player, his inclusion in the squad was always assured, and there were a handful of other Italians who most expected to make the cut.

In defence, Leonardo Bonucci earns a spot at centre back alongside Harry Maguire, and the pair are flanked by some international teammates at full back. Kyle Walker is in on the right, with Leonardo Spinazzola doing enough to seal a spot on the left despite tearing his ACL in the quarter-final.

Spinazzola was many supporters' player of the tournament before he went down in the dying stages of the victory over Belgium. He had dominated up to that point and was cruelly denied a spot in the final which he had worked so hard to get to.

In midfield, Chelsea's Jorginho was another clear pick, and the UEFA panel voted to link him up with Denmark's Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg and Spain wonderkid Pedri, who was named the tournament's best young player - and 90min's Our 21 Player of Euro 2020.

Up top, there's no spot for tournament top scorer Cristiano Ronaldo or even the man who finished tied with him, the Czech Republic's Patrik Schick. Instead, it's Belgium's Romelu Lukaku who makes the cut.

Out wide, Raheem Sterling is England's third feature after single-handedly dragging the Three Lions through the group stage and impressing in the knockout rounds, and the team is finished off by Italy's Federico Chiesa.

Federico Chiesa
Chiesa ended the summer in top form / Claudio Villa/Getty Images

Chiesa wasn't even a starter when the competition kicked off but soon won Roberto Mancini over, bagging two goals in the knockout stages and running riot against England in the semi-final.

Euro 2020 Team of the Tournament

Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy); Kyle Walker (England), Leonardo Bonucci (Italy), Harry Maguire (England), Leonardo Spinazzola (Italy); Jorginho (Italy), Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg (Denmark), Pedri (Spain); Federico Chiesa (Italy), Romelu Lukaku (Belgium), Raheem Sterling (England)