Tottenham Hotspur

Erik Lamela wins 2021 Puskas Award

Sean Walsh
Lamela has won the award
Lamela has won the award / Julian Finney/GettyImages

Erik Lamela has won the 2021 Puskas Award for his audacious 'Rabona' goal for Tottenham in their north London derby loss to Arsenal back in March.

The Argentine forward's effort made a three-goal final shortlist for the award, alongside Patrik Schick for his halfway line strike for the Czech Republic against Scotland at Euro 2020 and Mehdi Taremi's overhead kick for Porto against Chelsea.

But Lamela's 'Rabona' - which nutmegged a defender on the way in - for Spurs to open the scoring in a 2-1 defeat to Arsenal at the Emirates Stadium has been crowned as the best goal from 2021.

This wasn't the first time that Lamela - who left Spurs for Sevilla in the summer - has such a goal, either. He scored a 'Rabona' from outside his own box for Tottenham in a Europa League match against Asteras Tripoli in 2014.

However, speaking via video call at the FIFA ceremony in Zurich, Lamela revealed that he doesn't necessarily practice taking 'Rabona' shots in training.

Lamela's triumph means that the Puskas Award has gone to a goal scored by a Spurs player for the second year running. Son Heung-min won the 2020 award for his incredible solo goal against Burnley in December 2019.