England confirm latest 25-player squad as Euro 2024 looms

  • England take on Brazil & Belgium in the final international break before Euro 2024
  • Jarrad Branthwaite & Anthony Gordon handed maiden call-ups
  • Jordan Henderson retains spot; Kalvin Phillips left out
Southgate's last squad before Euro 2024 has been announced
Southgate's last squad before Euro 2024 has been announced / Alex Grimm/GettyImages

Gareth Southgate has named his England squad for the March international break, handing debuts to Everton's Jarrad Branthwaite and Newcastle United forward Anthony Gordon.

In what will be the final international break before Euro 2024, England will take on high-level competition in the shape of Brazil and Belgium, giving Southgate a strong idea of what he can expect from his side.

The England boss has not shied away from some big decisions for this squad, handing out two debuts and also leaving out usual favourite Kalvin Phillips. The midfielder has struggled since joining West Ham United on loan from Manchester City and has been dropped from the Three Lions setup as a result.

There is a return for Brentford striker Ivan Toney, whose solitary cap for England came on March 26, 2023, before he was handed an eight-month ban for gambling breaches. Liverpool defender Joe Gomez makes his first squad since October 2020.

Chelsea forward Cole Palmer keeps his place after Southgate watched the 21-year-old impress on Monday evening, while Aston Villa striker Ollie Watkins retains his spot as the primary back-up to Harry Kane after racking up 16 goals and ten assists in the Premier League this season.

Jordan Henderson retains his spot in the squad after swapping Al Ettifaq for Ajax last month, but there is no place for the injured Jack Grealish.

Kalvin Phillips
Phillips has been left out / Michael Regan/GettyImages

England squad for March international break

Goalkeepers: Sam Johnstone (Crystal Palace), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal).

Defenders: Jarrad Branthwaite (Everton), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Lewis Dunk (Brighton & Hove Albion), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Ezri Konsa (Aston Villa), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kyle Walker (Manchester City).

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Ajax), James Maddison (Tottenham Hotspur), Declan Rice (Arsenal).

Forwards: Jarrod Bowen (West Ham United) Phil Foden (Manchester City), Anthony Gordon (Newcastle United), Harry Kane (Bayern Munich), Cole Palmer (Chelsea), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Ivan Toney (Brentford), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa).