Copa America 2024 Format Explained

  • The Copa America 2024 Group Stage kicks off on June 20
  • Only eight teams will advance to the Knockout Stage
  • A winner will be crowned in front of 65,000 fans in Miami Gardens, FL
Here's the full Copa America 2024 format explained.
Here's the full Copa America 2024 format explained. / Wagner Meier/GettyImages

The Copa America 2024 format allows eight of the 16 qualified teams to advance beyond the Group Stage and compete for a spot in the final just three weeks later.

The last Copa America unfolded in the aftermath of COVID-19, limiting the competition's teams, matches, and fans. Fortunately, just three years later, the historic international tournament is back and bigger than ever with no pandemic-related restrictions.

In fact, the Copa America 2024 features 10 CONMEBOL teams and six CONCACAF teams, including the host nation, the United States, resulting in 32 total fixtures throughout the competition. Compared to the Copa America 2021 match calendar, the extra teams expanded the tournament's format, starting with the Group Stage.

Here's everything you need to know about the upcoming format in the Copa America 2024.

Carlos Fernandez, Fred Nantes
CONMEBOL Copa America 2024 Official Draw / Megan Briggs/GettyImages

Copa America 2024 Format Explained

The Copa America 2024 format is fairly easy to follow, unlike other major international tournaments. The 16 qualified teams were sorted into the following four groups that determine the first matches of the competition:

  • Group A: Argentina, Peru, Chile, Canada
  • Group B: Mexico, Ecuador, Venezuela, Jamaica
  • Group C: USA, Uruguay, Panama, Bolivia
  • Group D: Brazil, Colombia, Paraguay, Costa Rica

Every team will play the other three teams in their group one time in the Group Stage. Then, the top two teams from each group will advance to the Knockout Stage.

The remaining eight teams will face off in the quarter-finals. The winners of each group will play the runner-ups of a different group. Check out the full matchups:

  • QF1: Winner of Group A vs. Runner-up of Group B
  • GF2: Winner of Group B vs. Runner-up of Group A
  • QF3: Winner of Group C vs. Runner-up of Group D
  • QF4: Winner of Group D vs. Runner-up of Group C

Next, the four winners of each quarter-final will meet in the semifinals. The victorious sides from QF1 and QF2 will play at MetLife Stadium while the QF3 and QF4 winners will battle at Bank of America Stadium.

The two losers from the semifinals will compete for third-place just one day before the two winners face off in the final to determine the 2024 Copa America champions.