CanMNT announce 27-player roster set to face Uruguay & Qatar in September friendlies

Lizzy Becherano
John Herdman announces CanMNT roster for September friendlies.
John Herdman announces CanMNT roster for September friendlies. / Matthew Ashton - AMA/GettyImages

The Canadian men’s national team head coach John Herdman announced the 27-player roster set to face Qatar and Uruguay in the upcoming September friendlies. 

The team will comfort Qatar in Vienna, Austria, on September 23, before traveling to Bratislava, Slovakia, to play Uruguay on September 27 in the last international window before the 2022 FIFA World Cup. 

Herdman’s squad includes 11 players from Major League Soccer, and star figures Bayern Munich’s Alphonso Davies to FC Porto’s Stephen Eustáquio. Longtime CanMNT captain Atiba Hutchinson is absent, while 18-year-old forward Luca Koleosho looks to be getting  his first senior-team cap.

“Being our first trip outside of Concacaf and first games against non-Concacaf nations since the journey started back in 2018, we will learn a lot in these moments,” Herdman said in a release. “Both opponents present different types of tests and with the quality of Uruguay we will see and feel first-hand the intensity of that next-level opponent.”

Here’s the full squad…


  • Milan Borjan - Red Star Belgrade
  • Maxime Crépeau - LAFC
  • Dayne St. Clair - Minnesota United FC


  • Samuel Adekugbe - Hatayspor FC
  • Derek Cornelius - Panetolikos FC
  • Alphonso Davies - Bayern Munich
  • Alistair Johnston - CF Montréal
  • Scott Kennedy - SSV Jahn Regensburg
  • Richie Laryea - Toronto FC
  • Kamal Miller - CF Montréal
  • Steven Vitória - GD Chaves
  • Joel Waterman - CF Montréal


  • Stephen Eustáquio - FC Porto
  • Mark-Anthony Kaye - Toronto FC
  • Ismaël Koné - CF Montréal
  • Jonathan Osorio - Toronto FC
  • Samuel Piette - CF Montréal


  • Charles-Andreas Brym - FC Eindhoven
  • Tajon Buchanan - Club Brugge 
  • Lucas Cavallini - Vancouver Whitecaps FC
  • Theo Corbeanu - Blackpool FC
  • Jonathan David - Lille OSC
  • David Junior Hoilett - Reading FC
  • Luca Koleosho - RCD Espanyol
  • Cyle Larin - Club Brugge
  • Liam Millar - FC Basel
  • Iké Ugbo - ES Troyes