Bruce Arena named MLS Coach of the Year

Arena has moved one ahead of Bob Bradley on four Coach of the Year awards.
Arena has moved one ahead of Bob Bradley on four Coach of the Year awards. / Jasen Vinlove-USA TODAY Sports

Bruce Arena has been voted the 2021 Sigi Schmid MLS Coach of the Year after guiding the New England Revolution to the Supporters' Shield.

The Revs were dominant during the regular season, finished top of the overall standings with a league-record 73 points - at least 12 more than any other team.

New England won more games (22) and scored more goals (65) than the chasing pack, with the likes of Carles Gil, Adam Buksa, and Gustavo Bou routinely tearing defenses to shreds.

The Revs are yet to play in this year's MLS Cup Playoffs thanks to earning a bye into the Eastern Conference semi-finals. But as they prepare for their clash with New York City FC on Tuesday night, they've been given the boost of Arena being named Coach of the Year.

It's the fourth time Arena has picked up the award - and the first since 2011 - taking him one clear of Bob Bradley as record holder. The pair are the only coaches to win it with three separate MLS clubs.

According to, Arena received 57.97% of the overall vote by MLS club technical staff, media, and current players. Robin Fraser placed second with 20.80% of the total vote after leading the Colorado Rapids to top spot in the Western Conference, despite having the league's lowest salary spend.

Arena and Fraser were a considerable distance clear of Seattle Sounders head coach Brian Schmetzer in third.

List of Sigi Schmid MLS Coach of the Year winners:

  • 2021: Bruce Arena – New England Revolution
  • 2020: Jim Curtin – Philadelphia Union
  • 2019: Bob Bradley – Los Angeles Football Club
  • 2018: Gerardo “Tata” Martino – Atlanta United
  • 2017: Greg Vanney – Toronto FC
  • 2016: Oscar Pareja – FC Dallas
  • 2015: Jesse Marsch – New York Red Bulls
  • 2014: Ben Olsen – D.C. United
  • 2013: Caleb Porter – Portland Timbers
  • 2012: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
  • 2011: Bruce Arena – LA Galaxy
  • 2010: Schellas Hyndman – FC Dallas
  • 2009: Bruce Arena – LA Galaxy
  • 2008: Sigi Schmid – Columbus Crew SC
  • 2007: Preki – Chivas USA
  • 2006: Bob Bradley – Chivas USA
  • 2005: Dominic Kinnear – San Jose Earthquakes
  • 2004: Greg Andrulis – Columbus Crew SC
  • 2003: Dave Sarachan – Chicago Fire
  • 2002: Steve Nicol – New England Revolution
  • 2001: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
  • 2000: Bob Gansler – Kansas City Wizards
  • 1999: Sigi Schmid – LA Galaxy
  • 1998: Bob Bradley – Chicago Fire
  • 1997: Bruce Arena – D.C. United
  • 1996: Thomas Rongen – Tampa Bay Mutiny