Bayern Munich seal 10th consecutive Bundesliga title

Jamie Spencer
Bayern Munich are Bundesliga champions for the 10th season in a row
Bayern Munich are Bundesliga champions for the 10th season in a row / KERSTIN JOENSSON/GettyImages

Bayern Munich have won a 10th consecutive Bundesliga title as a result of Saturday’s victory over rivals Borussia Dortmund in Der Klassiker.

With only nine points left to play for, the win gave Bayern a 12-point lead and mathematically ensured the German title will remain in Bavaria for at least another year.

Serge Gnabry and Robert Lewandowski gave Bayern a first half lead. Emre Can pulled one back for Dortmund from the penalty spot, but Jamal Musiala sealed it at 3-1 late on.

It is the first time in Bundesliga history that any one side has completed ’10 in a row’. In fact, since the modern era began in 1963, the record prior to this Bayern side’s run was three – that mark was achieved by Bayern teams of the 1970s and 1980s, and Borussia Monchengladbach.

The current streak began with the 2012/13 Bundesliga title, wrestling domestic dominance back from a Dortmund team under the guidance of Jurgen Klopp.

Current boss Julian Nagelsmann, in his first season in charge, is the sixth different coach to oversee one of the 10 championships, following in the footsteps of Jupp Heynckes, Pep Guardiola, Carlo Ancelotti, Niko Kovac and Hansi Flick.

For more from Jamie Spencer, follow him on Twitter and Facebook!