PFA Fans Player of the Year

The winner of the PFA Vertu Motors Championship Fans' Player of the Year - 2021/22

Aleksandar Mitrovic takes home the prize
Aleksandar Mitrovic takes home the prize /

When you break a division's goalscoring record, you've probably got a good chance of winning an individual award or two.

Fulham's Aleksandar Mitrovic has been a regular winner of the PFA Vertu Motors Fans' Player of the Month throughout the 2021/22 campaign, and to top it all off, the Serb has now secured the Player of the Year prize as well.

With 43 goals (and seven assists) in just 44 games this year, Mitrovic absolutely decimated the Championship's previous goalscoring record - eclipsing the 31 netted by Ivan Toney before February had come to a close - and he'd end up besting Guy Whittingham's record for the most goals scored in a 46-game season in the second tier when he found the back of the net for the 43rd time.

On top of the Golden Boot and a Championship winners medal with Fulham, Mitrovic romped to the PFA Vertu Motors' Fans' Player of the Year award, securing a cool 34% of votes when all was said and done.

Behind Mitrovic was Blackburn's cult hero, Ben Brereton Diaz. The Chile international recorded 22 goals of his own this past year and walked away with 19% of the votes.

Rounding out the top three was Bournemouth's Dominic Solanke, who will be looking forward to another bite of the cherry (with the Cherries) in the Premier League next year after his 29 goals - a return bettered only by Mitrovic - led Bournemouth to the second automatic promotion spot and secured him 18% of the votes.

Harry Wilson of Fulham picked up 16%, with Andreas Weimann (7%) and Billy Sharp (6%) also receiving recognition from Championship supporters.