Indian Super League

AIFF confirm 2022-23 I-League winners to be promoted to Indian Super League

Mudeet Arora
Next season's I-League winners will play in ISL
Next season's I-League winners will play in ISL / ISL

The All India Football Federation (AIFF) has confirmed that next season's I-League winners will be promoted to the Indian Super League.

The Hero I-League 2021-22 season is all set to come to a close this week with Gokulam Kerala FC facing Mohammedan Sporting Club on May 14, following which the winner of the league title will be decided in what has been a closely contested season so far.

Looking forward, the most intriguing aspect of the 2022-23 I-League season according to the road-map set by the All India Football Federation in 2019 is that the league's champions will gain promotion to the Indian Super League.

I-League clubs wrote to the AIFF and AFC after there was no communication regarding the rule until late in the ongoing season.

"The road map is there and in 2023, the winners of the I-League will get promoted to ISL without paying franchise fee.

Similarly in 2023-24. And after that promotion and relegation will start (in ISL). This is an agreed structure where all the clubs were present in AFC (in October 2019) and there is absolutely no change as far as AIFF is concerned.", said AIFF general secretary Kushal Das.

He added that the detailed calendar for next season should be available in the ongoing month.

Finally, Das also spoke about the delay in AIFF elections and the ongoing issue in the Supreme Court.

"We haven’t heard from the Supreme Court on it. AIFF sought the apex court’s direction in 2020 ahead of elections but dates are given and dates get changed. Many may believe the AIFF is manipulating but I can assure you that AIFF is not so influential to manipulate the apex court of the country.", he concluded.