​Atletico Madrid youngster Joao Felix has been named the 2019 Golden Boy, rounding off a remarkable breakthrough season.

The 20-year-old burst onto the scene for Benfica last season after coming through the club's academy ranks, before signing a seven-year contract with Atletico Madrid in a deal reported to be worth in the region of €126m.

Joao Felix

The Portuguese wonderkid will be presented with his journalist-voted award on Monday 16 December in Turin, having seen off competition from the likes of Jadon Sancho and Kai Havertz.

News of Felix's award comes via organisers ​Tuttosport, with his victory announced in front of 200 guests at a gala ceremony held in Rome.

Felix succeeds 2018 winner Matthijs de Ligt, whose sensational performances for Ajax eventually earned him a summer move to Juventus. 

He earned 332 points from the voting panel, made up of 40 sports journalists, comfortably beating Sancho (175) and Havertz (75) into second and third place respectively.

Felix himself sent a short video statement to those in attendance, thanking Tuttosport for the award, as well as Benfica for all that they did for him during his meteoric rise to stardom.

"Thanks to Tuttosport for the Golden Boy Award 2019, I am very proud," Felix said. "It is the second time that a player from Atletico Madrid has won this award and I am happy. Thanks also to Benfica, in particular to coach Bruno Lage for all he has done for me and my family that is always close to me. A hug".

Matthijs de Ligt

Red Bull Salzburg striker Erling Håland came fourth after earning 74 points, with De Ligt finishing fifth.

Phil Foden finished seventh, despite his lack of appearances for Manchester City, while Chelsea's Mason Mount finished 11th. Ansu Fati, Gianluigi Donnarumma, Nicolo Zaniolo and Donyell Malen were the other players to round out the top ten.

The Complete 2019 Golden Boy Ranking

(*Each juror assigned 10 points to the first vote, 7 to the second, 5 to the third, 3 to the fourth and 1 to the fifth.)

​1.​Joao Felix (Atletico Madrid)332pts​
​2.​Jadon Sancho (Dortmund)175pts​
​3.​Kai Havertz (Leverkusen)75pts​
​4.​Erling Håland (Salzburg)74pts​
​5.​Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus)71pts​
​6.​Ansu Fati (Barcelona)49pts​
​7.​Phil Foden (Man City)46pts​
​8.​Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan)37pts​
​9.​Nicolo Zaniolo (Roma)36pts​
​10.​Donyell Malen (PSV)35pts​
​11.​Mason Mount (Chelsea)29pts​
​12.​Rodrygo (Real Madrid)20pts​
​13.​Vinicius Jr. (Real Madrid)13pts​
​14.​Moise Kean (Everton)13pts​
​15.​Andriy Lunin (Valladolid)11pts​
​16.Dejan Joveljic (Frankfurt)​9pts​
​17.​Matteo Guendouzi (Arsenal)9pts​
​18.​Alphonso Davies (Bayern)1pt​

*Kang-in Lee and Ferran Torres, both of Valencia, make up the top 20 but failed to receive any votes.

For more from Toby Cudworth, follow him on Twitter!