The Golden Boy 2019 nominees list has been whittled down to 80, with English stars Jadon Sancho, Phil Foden and Callum Hudson-Odoi all still in the hunt. 

Italian publication Tuttosport initially released a list of 100 nominees for the under-21 award, with a public vote determining who made it through to the next stage. That reduced shortlist has now been unveiled, with voting open once more for the next round.

In the first crop, there were 16 English representatives, but this has now been shortened to 12, with Manchester United's Angel Gomes, Borussia Monchengladbach's Keanan Bennetts, Liverpool's Rhian Brewster and Arsenal's Charlie Gilmour among those to drop out. 

However, alongside frontrunners Sancho (with the Borussia Dortmund man the particularly hot favourite to take home the award), Foden and Hudson-Odoi, there was still plenty of cause for optimism, especially for the London sides. 

All of Chelsea's three English candidates remain, with Dujon Sterling and Mason Mount rounding up the domestic list alongside Wales' Ethan Ampadu and the Ivorian Marc Guehi. 

The same goes for Arsenal, who retain Eddie Nketiah, Reiss Nelson and Joe Willock as well as Frenchman Mateo Guendouzi, while north London rivals ​Tottenham still boast both Tashan Oakley-Boothe and Oliver Skipp.


Wolves' Morgan Gibbs-White completes the anglo list, while other prominent names include recent Atletico Madrid signing Joao Felix, Juventus' Moise Kean, last year's winner and newly confirmed Juve player Matthijs de Ligt, Roma's Nicolo Zaniolo and Real Madrid's Brazilian pair of Vinicius Jr and Rodrygo.

The full list of remaining nominees is as follows (notable players in bold): 

1) Habeeb Omobolaji Adekanye (Lazio)

2) Yacine Adli, (Bordeaux)

3) Ethan Ampadu (Chelsea)

4) Brahim Diaz (Real Madrid)

5) Lazar Carevic (Barcelona)

6) Tahith Chong (Manchester United) 

7) Samuel Chimerenka Chukwueze (Villarreal) 

8) Michaël Cuisance (Borussia Monchengladbach) 

9) Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax/Juventus)

10) Moussa Diaby (Bayer Leverkusen)

11) Krépin Diatta (Club Bruges) 

12) Diogo Dalot (Manchester United) 

13) Diogo Leite (Porto)

14) Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan) 

15) Jurgen Ekkelenkamp (Ajax) 

16) Eljif Elmas (Fenerbahce) 

17) Philip Walter Foden (Manchester City) 

18) Carvalho Gedson Fernandes (Benfica) 

19) Morgan Anthony Gibbs-White (Wolverhampton Wanderers)

20) Amine Ferid Gouiri (Olympique Lyonnais) 

21) Kamil Grabara (Liverpool) 

22) Mattéo Olié Guendouzi (Arsenal) 

23) Marc Guehi (Chelsea) 

24) Erling Haland (Red Bull Salzburg) 

25) Kai Havertz (Bayer Leverkusen) 

26) Juan Camilo Suarez Hernandez (Watford)

27) Callum Hudson-Odoi (Chelsea) 

28) Alexander Isak (Real Sociedad) 

29) Joao Felix (Atletico Madrid

30) João Pedro Neves Filipe Jota (Benfica)

31) Dejan Jovelijic (Eintracht Frankfurt) 

32) Boubacar Kamara (Olympique Marseille) 

33) Moise Kean (Juventus) 

34) Justin Kluivert (AS Roma)

35) Sékou Koita (Red Bull Salzburg)

36) Ibrahima Konate (RB Leipzig) 

37) Alban Lafont (Nantes) 

38) Diego Leyva Lainez (Real Betis)

39) Da Cunha Leandro Fernandes (Juventus) 

40) Kang-in Lee (Valencia)

41) Andrij Oleksijovyc Lunin (Real Madrid) 

42) Arne Maier (Hertha Berlin) 

43) Donyell Malen (PSV Eindhoven) 

44) Manuel Ariño Manu Morlanes (Villarreal)

45) Jaqueson Ferreira dos Santos Mauro Junior (PSV Eindhoven)

46) Geremias Mesaque Dju (West Ham United) 

47) Mason Mount (Chelsea)

48) Patricio Nehuen Perez (Atletico Madrid) 

49) Reiss Luke Nelson (Arsenal) 

50) Edward Keddar Nketiah (Arsenal) 

51) Stanley Pierre Nsoki (Paris Saint-Germain) 

52) Tashan Oakley-Boothe (Tottenham Hotspur) 

53) Abdülkadir Ömur (Trabzonspor) 

54) Paulo Henrique Sampaio Filho Paulinho (Bayer Leverkusen)

55) Strahinja Pavlovic (Partizan Belgrade) 

56) Luca Pellegrini (Juventus) 

57) Andrea Pinamonti (Genoa)

58) Domingos Quina (Watford) 

59) Alexandre da Conceição Rafael Leao (Lille) 

60) Ricard Martí Riqui Puig (Barcelona) 

61) Silva de Goes Rodrygo (Real Madrid) 

62) Maximiliano Samuel Romero (PSV Eindhoven) 

63) Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund) 

64) Malang Sarr (Nice) 

65) Oliver William Skipp (Tottenham Hotspur)  

66) Andreas Skov Olsen (FC Nordsjælland) 

67) Antonis Stergiakis (Slavia Sofia) 

68) Dujon Henriques Sterling (Chelsea) 

69) Moussa Sylla (AS Monaco) 

70) Sandro Tonali (Brescia)

71) Hamed Junior Traore (Sassoulo) 

72) Ikouwem Udoh Utin (Maccabi Haifa)  

73) Zinho Vanheusden (Standard Liege) 

74) José Paixão de Oliveira Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid) 

75) Sebastian Walukiewicz (Cagliari)

76) Timothy Tarpeh Weah (Lille)

77) Joseph George Willock (Arsenal)

78) Benjamin Woodburn (Liverpool)

79) Dan-Axel Zagadou (Borussia Dortmund) 

80) Nicolò Zaniolo (AS Roma)