​Lionel Messi's stunning free-kick against Liverpool has been voted the Champions League Goal of the Tournament for 2018/19.

The Argentine maestro curled the ball into the top corner from around 25-metres out, with Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson unable to do anything about the wonder strike. It was a fitting way for the supremely skilled forward to score his 600th goal for Barça, and was also his 42nd free-kick goal for the Catalans.

Messi's strike has now been named Goal of the Tournament, with the announcement being made on the official UEFA Champions League social media channels following a fan vote in association with Nissan.


The goal came in Barcelona's semi-final first leg tie against Liverpool at Camp Nou. It was Messi's second strike of the game and put Barça 3-0 up, which meant Liverpool had a monumental task on their hands to progress. 

However, Messi's efforts all turned out to be in vain, as Jurgen Klopp's side shocked the football world by decimating ​Barça 4-0 in the return leg at Anfield. ​Liverpool went on to win the competition, defeating Tottenham in the final to claim their sixth European Cup.

​Messi had plenty of competition for the award, with fans given the chance to vote for Arjen Robben's trademark left-footed strike against Benfica and Ivan Rakitic's stunning half-volley against Tottenham. 

His biggest competition, however, was from old rival Cristiano Ronaldo. The Portuguese superstar scored a brilliant first-time volley against his former club Manchester United in the group stage following a lofted through-ball from Leonardo Bonucci.


However, it's Messi strike that's been voted the best, and it's hard to argue with the voters' choice. Messi also finished as the 2018/19 ​Champions League top scorer with 12 goals in just ten games.

The Argentine will hope his side fare better in Europe next year, Barça having also thrown away a three-goal lead against Roma in 2017/18.

The Spanish champions have been linked with a number of high profile transfer targets following this season's European disappointment, including Antoine Griezmann and Matthjis de Ligt.