Virgil van Dijk

6 Premier League Sides With the Most PFA Team of the Year Inclusions Since 2008

The PFA Team of the Year for the 2018/19 Premier League season has been announced and there won't be too many complaints about the selections.

There was no surprise that the team was dominated by the league's top two teams Manchester City and Liverpool, with City having six of their players included whilst the Reds saw four of their men selected as well. 

Whilst in recent seasons the Team of the Year has included players across a number of clubs, this campaign proved to be different with Paul Pogba proving to be the only player included that doesn't play for either of the league's top two teams.

With that being said, here we will have a look at the six Premier League teams who have had the most inclusions in the PFA Team of the Year's since 2008.

6. Arsenal - 8

Although Arsenal may not have won a Premier League title in the last 11 years, they've still had a number of players who as individuals have shone on the pitch. 

They've had eight inclusions in the Team of the Year since 2008, including three players in the 2010/11 team with Bacary Sagna, Jack Wilshere and Samir Nasri were all being recognised for their efforts.

With the club now under new management of Unai Emery, fans will be hoping it won't be too long before they see their players are regularly featuring in the team once again, with Hector Bellerin  their last inclusion three seasons ago.

5. Liverpool - 13

Liverpool certainly had their fair share of struggles in the early 2010's, although it looks as though the club have turned a corner.

Back-to-back top four finishes between 2016 and 2018 as well as a Champions League final appearance look to have rejuvenated the football club, which has certainly showed this season with Liverpool challenging for the title and had four players named in the 2018/19 Team of the Year - the highest number of inclusions they've had in the Premier League era. 

With Jurgen Klopp now having formed a strong squad it looks as though Reds' fans can look forward to seeing many more of their players being nominated in the years to come and they'll certainly be climbing this list if the players can keep performing at such a high level are. 

4. Tottenham - 18

In the last 11 years Tottenham have grown from top four contenders to title challengers, largely thanks to the work of Mauricio Pochettino.

Their rapid rise towards the very top of English football has coincidence with a surge in the number of Spurs players featured in recent Team of the Year's. They've had 11 inclusions  in the last four teams, with Harry Kane notching up four of those appearances by himself.

The fans will be hoping the impressive individual performances can now translate into success for the team with Spurs hoping to soon win their first Premier League title. 

3. Manchester City - 19

Given the fact that Manchester City didn't win their first Premier League title until 2012 , it makes it even more impressive that in the space of nearly eight years they've had 19 inclusions in the Team of the Year's.

They have consistently had players involved in those teams each year, although City have notably dominated the lineup in the last two campaigns having had five players named in the 2017/18 team as well as a remarkable six players in the recent 2018/19 team.

They are showing no signs of slowing down under Pep Guardiola, and we can certainly expect to see many familiar faces from the City side in the Team of the Year's in the seasons to come.

2. Chelsea - 20

It's fair to say Chelsea have struggled to find consistency in recent seasons. They've won three Premier League titles in the last nine years but haven't been able to defend their crown once, although that hasn't stopped their players from impressing from an individual standpoint.

The Blues have consistently had players featured in the Team of the Year's over the last 11 seasons, with their most successful season coming in 2014/15 when they had six players included after the club won their fifth Premier League title.

It has been a rough campaign for Chelsea this time around having lost their way after what had been such a strong start to the season, but they'll be hoping for a vast improvement next season where they'll be hoping to see a number of their players included in the Team of the Year.

1. Manchester United - 24

It may come as a surprise seeing United at the top of the list given the fact that the last time they won a Premier League title was in 2013 along with their struggles to find a permanent managerial replacement for Sir Alex Ferguson, but under the management of the Scotsman his men dominated the Team of the Year's in the late 2000s and early 2010s.

Even though the number of United players in more recent teams has dropped, rather remarkably there has been just one year in the Premier League era where United haven't had a player in the Team of the Year (2013/14).

That streak is largely thanks to David de Gea who now has five Team of the Year appearances to his name and has kept United's representation in the team for a number of years, although with Ole Gunnar Solskjaer now at the wheel fans will be hoping to see many more of their players featured in the years to come.