Borussia Dortmund and England winger Jadon Sancho has won the 2019 Goal NxGn award, an prize handed out each year to the best player in the world aged 19 or under.

Having made the switch to Germany from Manchester City in the summer of 2017, Sancho has firmly established himself in Dortmund's first team this season, scoring nine times in all competitions and earning a senior international call up.

Jadon Sancho

He beat the likes of Real Madrid pair Vinicius Junior and Rodrygo Goes to the prize, as well Chelsea's Callum Hudson-Odoi and ex-Manchester City teammate Phil Foden. In total, there were seven British talents named in the top 20.

"There are a lot of great players my age out there and to be chosen as the best player of NxGn is really good for me and for my family," a proud Sancho said.

As for what he wants to achieve next, the 18-year-old added: "Obviously, I dream of winning the Ballon d'Or, given the likes of those who have won it previously, like ​Leo Messi​Cristiano Ronaldo, [Luka] Modric and Ronaldinho. All these greats have won it, so I feel that should be a big inspiration to everyone in the world that plays football."

Jadon Sancho,Weston McKennie

2019 Goal NxGn Award Top 20

1​​Jadon Sancho (England)​Borussia Dortmund
​2​Vinicius Junior (Brazil)Real Madrid​
​3Callum Hudson-Odoi (England)​Chelsea​
4​Phil Foden (England)​Manchester City​
​5Rodrygo Goes (Brazil)​Santos (joining Real Madrid, July 2019)​
​6​Alphonso Davies (Canada)​Bayern Munich
​7Sandro Tonali (Italy)​Brescia​
​8Diego Lainez (Mexico)​Real Betis​
​9Moise Kean (Italy)​Juventus​
​10Morgan Gibbs-White (England)​Wolverhampton Wanderers​
​11Ryan Sessegnon (England)​​Fulham
​12Ferran Torres (Spain)​Valencia​
​13Sofiane Diop (France)​Monaco​
​14Ethan Ampadu (Wales)​Chelsea​
​15Eric Garcia (Spain)​Manchester City​
16​Mason Greenwood (England)​Manchester United​
17​Timothy Weah (USA)​Celtic (on loan from PSG)​
​18Paulinho (Brazil)​Bayer Leverkusen​
​19Agustin Almendra (Argentina)​Boca Juniors​
​20Aurelien Tchouameni​ (France)​Bordeaux

Goal's annual NxGn award is voted for by the football site's 500-plus journalists across the world. The 2019 edition is the sixth annual award, with Justin Kluivert honoured in 2018.