​Hamburg have become the second team to be relegated from the Bundesliga this season, ending a record run of 55 straight seasons in the German top flight. 

The northern club are the only side to have played in every single season of the ​Bundesliga since its inception in 1963 - with even ​Bayern Munich spending the first two seasons in the Regionalliga Süd; a regional second division, with winners from around the country going into a promotion playoff round. 

Hamburg have battled bravely against the drop in recent seasons - finishing 16th in both the 2013/14 and 2014/15 seasons only to survive by winning relegation play-offs against Greuther Fürth and Karlsruhe respectively - but a chronic lack of goalscoring talent saw them finally perish on Saturday afternoon despite a 2-1 win at home to Borussia Monchengladbach. 

That result may carry an asterisk though, with fan protests and flares causing the game to be stopped deep in injury time. 

The result - assuming it is to stand - would have been enough to ensure one more shot at survival in a relegation playoff were it not for Wolfsburg's 3-1 thrashing of relegated Köln at the same time, goals from Josuha Guilavogui, Divock Origi, Robin Knoche and Josip Brekalo ensuring that the Saxony-based side will face Holstein Kiel in a two-legged battle for a single top-flight berth after fellow strugglers Freiburg also won. 

Hamburg have won the Bundesliga three times since its invention as such in '63, coming in five seasons between 1978/79 and 1982/83 - the first spearheaded by the goals of Kevin Keegan before Horst Hrubesch took over as the club's top scorer for four successive seasons, the man they called Das Kopfball-Ungeheuer (erm; 'the Header Beast') leading Der Dino to a league and European Cup double in 1983.