Brighton and Newcastle players dominate the 2016/17 PFA Championship Team of the Year, with seven players from the two clubs named among the best XI from the second tier this season.

Following a campaign in which Brighton have secured promotion to the Premier League for the first time, club captain Bruno is the only returning player from 2015/16's Team of the Year.

The Spanish defender is joined by Seagulls team-mate David Stockdale in goal, while centre-back Lewis Dunk and winger Antony Knockaert also feature - the Frenchman has provided 22 combined goals and assists this season and was also promoted with Leicester back in 2014.

Newcastle, who look set to hold on to the second automatic promotion place despite a recent wobble, are represented in the XI by 22-goal forward Dwight Gayle, as well as midfielder Jonjo Shelvey and defender Jamaal Lascelles.

Fulham v Newcastle United - Sky Bet Championship

Playoff chasing Fulham have two players in the collective team: teenage full-back Ryan Sessgnon and midfielder Tom Cairney, while Leeds forward Chris Wood also made the cut after his fine campaign.

Australian midfielder Aaron Mooy, on loan at Huddersfield from Manchester City competes the line-up after helping the Terriers establish themselves firmly in the playoff picture.

To continue the discussion on Twitter follow @jamiespencer155