​Wednesday night was filled with US Open Cup action with four incredible matches, and after all was said and done, the four semi-finalists were revealed. There weren't a lot of surprises, though, as three of the favorites advanced, and in the closest tie, a penalty shootout was needed to determine the winner.

Everything started in the game between the Philadelphia Union and the New England Revolution. It was a very even match in which neither side dominated the other over the course of 120 minutes, but the Revs were far more accurate during the penalty shootout to clinch a berth in the semifinals.

​​Chicago, on the other hand, didn't have problems getting past the Fort Lauderdale Strikers. The best player in this game was Chicago's winger David Accam who scored a goal and assisted on another one.

​​FC Dallas lived a different situation. They had lots of problems to defeat the Houston Dynamo, but ended up winning the match thanks to a late strike from Fabián Castillo.

​​The most exciting duel happened in StubHub Center between Los Angeles Galaxy and the Seattle Sounders. Even though Seattle was on top twice, Los Angeles rallied back and scored three unanswered goals in the second half to secure a 4-2 win in front of their fans.

​​The semifinals will be played on August 10th. The Eastern Conference teams will face between each other, and the same will occur with the Western Conference sides. It remains to be seen which team will host each game.

It must be highlighted that all four teams have won the US Open Cup before. FC Dallas won it in 1997, New England did it ten years later, the Los Angeles Galaxy lifted the trophy twice (2001 and 2005) and Chicago has four titles under their belt (1998, 2000, 2003, and 2006).