Real Madrid have arrived in Montreal to kick off their pre-season tour with as many as nine academy products named in the 25-man travelling squad. In a group still missing a lot of senior players, this is an opportunity for the youngsters to impress Zinedine Zidane ahead of 2016/17.

Those involved in the latter stages of Euro 2016 for the likes of Spain, Portugal, Germany and Wales, as well as the later rounds of the Copa America, are not yet back from holiday.

Mateo Kovacic is part of the tour despite going as far as the Euro quarter-finals with Croatia. His relative lack of playing time at the tournament compared to Luka Modric, however, meant he needed less of a break, especially as the young midfielder is looking to establish himself.

Philipp Lienhart, Alvaro Tejero, Achraf Hakimi join young defensive ranks still missing Pepe, Sergio Ramos, while Norwegian midfielder Martin Odegaard will be desperate to kick on and prove his arrival was not simplicity a publicity stunt, as Carlo Ancelotti recently suggested.

Odegaard has been away on first-team tour before, unlike most of his junior colleagues.

22-year-old Dominican Republic international forward Mariano has been the nod in the absence of Cristiano Ronaldo, Gareth Bale and Lucas Vazquez up front.

Zidane even named two of his sons in the group - Under-19 goalkeeper Luca and 21-year-old Castilla captain and midfielder Enzo. Neither use the Zidane surname, opting for 'Fernandez' instead to avoid any immediate comparisons with their famous father.

Paris Saint-Germain FC v Real Madrid - UEFA Youth League Quarter Final

Los Blancos face upcoming fixtures against Paris Saint-Germain, Chelsea and Bayern Munich before heading back to Europe for the UEFA Super Cup against Sevilla on 9th August. The new La Liga season will kick off just under two weeks later against Real Sociedad.

The 25-man squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Keylor Navas, Kiko Casilla, Rubén Yáñez, Álex Craninx, Luca Fernandez.

Defenders: Raphael Varane, Danilo, Dani Carvajal, Marcelo, Nacho, Philipp Lienhart, Alvaro Tejero, Achraf Hakimi.

Midfielders: Casemiro, Isco, Mateo Kovacic, Marcos Llorente, Marco Asensio, Martin Odegaard, Enzo Fernandez, Aleix Febas.

Forwards: Karim Benzema, Jesé, Borja Mayoral, Mariano.

To continue the discussion on Twitter follow @jamiespencer155