​UEFA's technical committee have named their team of the tournament for Euro 2016, featuring four men from the winning Portuguese side and no players who failed to make the semi-finals of the competition - featuring only Welsh, French, German and Portuguese stars. 

Antoine Griezmann was one of just two Frenchmen who lined up in the 4-2-3-1 formation, but sat atop the entire pile after being named the player of the tournament to go with his golden boot award - although the honours are likely to be scant consolation after coming on the losing side in Sunday's final. 

The defence consisted entirely of players from Portugal and Germany, with Pepe and Jérôme Boateng at the centre - flanked by Raphaël Guerreiro and Joshua Kimmich. 

Wales had a Premier League pair in the midfield, with Joe Allen and Aaron Ramsey slotting in alongside the glamorous trio of Griezmann, Toni Kroos and France's only other pick, Dimitri Payet. 

Cristiano Ronaldo defied his goalless opening to the tournament and his injury early in the final to earn the sole leading striker's spot in the team, which was picked by UEFA's 13-strong panel of technical observers. 

That panel contained a pair of Scottish ex-Manchester United managers, and was led by UEFA chief technical officer Ioan Lupescu. The rest of the panel consisted of Sir Alex Ferguson, Alain Giresse, David Moyes, Packie Bonner, Mixu Paatelainen, Savo Milošević, Peter Rudbæk, Gareth Southgate, Thomas Schaaf, Jean-François Domergue, Ginés Meléndez and Jean-Paul Brigger.

The full UEFA team of the tournament reads as follows: 

Rui Patrício (Portugal); Joshua Kimmich (Germany), Jérôme Boateng (Germany), Pepe (Portugal), Raphaël Guerreiro (Portugal); Toni Kroos (Germany), Joe Allen (Wales); Antoine Griezmann (France), Aaron Ramsey (Wales), Dmitri Payet (France); Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal). 

For more from Chris when he's not writing on 90min, follow him on Twitter at @ThatChris1209!

Euro 2016: Who Was Your Manager of the Tournament?

Fernando Santos (Portugal)

Heimir Hallgrímsson & Lars Lagerbäck (Iceland)

Chris Coleman (Wales)

Antonio Conte (Italy)

Didier Deschamps (France)