Major League Soccer

3 MLS players featured in Mexico’s Gold Cup roster

Lizzy Becherano
Pullido with the Mexican national team against Costa Rica in the CONCACAF Nations League Finals
Pullido with the Mexican national team against Costa Rica in the CONCACAF Nations League Finals / Omar Vega/Getty Images

Mexican national team head coach Tata Martino announced the 23-player roster ahead of the 2021 Gold Cup, featuring three Major League Soccer players.

Mexico will compete in Group A of the tournament, against Curacao, El Salvador and an opponent to be determined at the preliminary rounds in Miami from July 2 to July 6. Group A will play all three matches in the Dallas Metroplex from July 10 to July 18. 

Alan Pulido (Sporting Kansas City), Jonathan dos Santos (LA Galaxy) and Efrain Alvarez (LA Galaxy) make up the three Major League Soccer players involved in the tournament for Mexico. Alan Pulido almost failed to join Mexico in Dallas after suffering a cut to the foot over the weekend while playing for Sporting Kansas City. Though timely updates on his injury have not been provided, Tata Martino’s inclusion of the player points to a speedy recovery. 

Efrain Alvarez replaces MLS player and Mexican national team veteran Rodolfo Pizarro as he remains on the sidelines after sustaining a thigh injury earlier this season. Martino is confident that Alvarez can thrive in the absence of the Inter Miami player. 

Mexico will chase their ninth Gold Cup trophy, most recently winning the tournament in 2019. 

Mexican Gold Cup roster


  • Edson Alvarez - America
  • Nestor Araujo - Celta
  • Carlos Salcedo- Tigres
  •  Hector Moreno- Real Sociedad
  •  Luis "Chaka" Rodriguez - Tigres
  • Jesus Gallardo- Monterrey
  •  Kevin Alvarez- Pachuca
  •  Osvaldo Rodriguez- Leon
  • Gilberto Sepúlveda- Guadalajara 


  • Jonathan dos Santos- LA Galaxy
  • Erick Gutierrez- PSV
  •  Orbelin Pineda- Cruz Azul
  •  Alan Cervantes- Santos Laguna
  •  Jesus Gallardo- Monterrey
  •  Hector Herrera- Atletico de Madrid


  • Efrain Alvarez- LA Galaxy
  • Jesus Corona- Porto
  • Rogelio Funes Mori- Monterrey
  • Hirving Lozano- Napoli
  • Alan Pulido- Sporting Kansas City
  • Erick Sanchez- Pachuca