La Liga

2021/22 La Liga fixtures released

Matt O'Connor-Simpson
Atletico Madrid are looking to defend their title
Atletico Madrid are looking to defend their title / Anadolu Agency/Getty Images

The fixtures for the 2021/2022 La Liga season have been revealed, including the dates for this campaign's two 'El Clasico' matches.

Atletico Madrid are the reigning champions and both Barcelona and Real Madrid will be desperate to wrestle the trophy back off Diego Simeone's side.

Atleti begin their title defence away at Celta Vigo on the weekend ending 15 August. Meanwhile, Real face an away match against Alaves and Barça entertain Real Sociedad.

As for El Clasico, the Camp Nou fixture will be played first on 24 October. This will then be followed by the return game at the Santiago Bernabeu on 20 March - a meeting which should have a big say in the La Liga title race.

The Madrid Derby will also be played at potentially vital stage of the season. Real's home fixture will take place on 12 December, while Atletico will play host to their fierce rivals on 8 May. Elsewhere, Barcelona will need to prepare for a trip to the capital to take on Atleti on 3 October. The Blaugrana will then welcome the champions to Catalonia on 6 February.

If the title goes to the final day of the season, we are in for a barnstorming finale. On Matchday 38 Barcelona are at home to Europa League holders Villarreal, Real host namesakes Real Betis and Atletico travel to Real Sociedad.

Atletico Madrid key 2020/2021 fixtures

Celta Vigo (A) - 15 August
Barcelona (H) - 3 October
Real Madrid (A) - 12 December
Barcelona (A) - 6 February
Real Madrid (H) - 8 May
Real Sociedad (A) - 22 May

Real Madrid key 2020/2021 fixtures

Alaves (A) - 15 August
Barcelona (A) - 24 October
Atletico Madrid (H) - 12 December
Atletico Madrid (A) - 8 May
Barcelona (H) - 20 March
Real Betis (H) - 22 May

Barcelona key 2020/2021 fixtures

Real Sociedad (H) - 15 August
Atletico Madrid (A) - 3 October
Real Madrid (H) - 24 October
Atletico Madrid (H) - 6 February
Real Madrid (A) - 20 March
Villarreal (H) - 22 May