Viral Football

Who Would Have Been the Ballon d'Or Winners Since 2008 if Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo Didn't Exist?

Mudeet Arora
Who would have won the Ballon d'Or over the years if not for Messi and Ronaldo
Who would have won the Ballon d'Or over the years if not for Messi and Ronaldo / David Ramos/Getty Images

There is no doubt that Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo dominate the world of football and all it's awards, especially the Ballon d'Or over a decade, winning it 11 times in 12 years between them.

There has been no doubt that since 2008, both these GOATs have been the best in the world and have completely changed the way we watch and idolize football and footballers.

Between 2009 to 2019, Ronaldo and Messi broke every single footballing record there was to break in history. They also won pretty much every individual accolade, including the Ballon d'Or crown.

Messi won six Ballon d'Or gongs in that time with Ronaldo just the one behind him. It was for the first 10 years that Luka Modric won it ahead of these two legends, in 2018.

In the years between 2008 to 2019, if we consider that there were no Ronaldo or Messi in world football, the following footballers would have been Ballon d'Or winners.....

2008 - Fernando Torres

2009 - Xavi

2010 - Andres Iniesta

2011 - Xavi

2012 - Andres Iniesta

2013 - Franck Ribery

2014 - Manuel Neuer

2015 - Neymar

2016 - Antoine Griezmann

2017 - Neymar

2018 - Virgil van Dijk

It's pretty sad that the 2020 Ballon d'Or was cancelled due to COVID-19's pandemic regardless of the fact that Robert Lewandowski was supposed to be a clear and obvious winner of the gong this time out.