Indian Football

Nepal vs India Friendly: Preview, Where, How to Watch in India and Team News

Arjun Singh Devgan
India will play Nepal in two international friendlies in September
India will play Nepal in two international friendlies in September / DIBYANGSHU SARKAR/Getty Images

The Indian football national team get their preparations for the 2021 SAFF Championship to be held in October, 2021 in Maldives by facing Nepal in their first of two international friendlies on Thursday, 2 September at the Dasarath Stadium in Kathmandu.

The Blue Tigers head coach, Igor Stimac named a 25-man squad for the two friendlies and his side come into these encounters after playing two exhibition games, having undergone a training camp in Kolkata for quite sometime. Seriton Fernandes and Rahim Ali got their maiden call-ups to the national team camp, while striker, Ishan Pandita was left out in favour of Farukh Choudhary.

Nepal's head coach, Abdullah Almutairi too has named 25 players to take on India, with the side having two players in Kiran Limbu and Rohit Chand who are familiar to Indian audiences, having played in domestic competitions in the country in the past.

When is the game?

The match between Nepal and India is scheduled to take place on Thursday, 2 September at the Dasarath Stadium at 4:45pm IST.

How and where to watch the game?

Unfortunately, the Nepal vs India international friendlies will not be telecasted in India as there are no official broadcasters. However, online streaming will be available on the Indian Football Team official Facebook page.

Team News


Goalkeepers: Kiran Kumar Limbu, Deep Karki, Bishal Shrestha, Bikesh Kuthu.

Defenders: Ananta Tamang, Dinesh Rajbanshi, Gautam Shrestha, Rohit Chand, Suman Aryal, Rajan Gurung, Kamal Thapa.
Midfielders: Ayush Ghalan, Bishal Rai, Nitin Thapa, Pujan Uperkoti, Santosh Tamang, Sujal Shrestha, Sunil Bal, Suraj Jeu Thakuri, Tej Tamang.

Forwards: Aashish Lama, Anjan Bista, Manish Dangi, Nawayug Shrestha, Suman Lama.

Team News


Goalkeepers: Amrinder Singh, Dheeraj Singh Moirangthem, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu.

Defenders: Pritam Kotal, Chinglensana Singh Konsham, Mandar Rao Dessai, Akash Mishra, Rahul Bheke, Subhasish Bose, Seriton Fernandes.

Midfielders: Lalengmawia, Bipin Singh, Anirudh Thapa, Sahal Abdul Samad, Brandon Fernandes, Liston Colaco, Yasir Mohammad, Glan Martins, Suresh Singh Wangjam, Jeakson Singh, Pronay Halder.

Forwards: Manvir Singh, Rahim Ali, Sunil Chhetri, Farukh Choudhary.