James Ward-Prowse Enters Elite List of Premier League Greats in Terms of Goals From Free-kicks

Mudeet Arora
Cristiano Ronaldo and David Beckham
Cristiano Ronaldo and David Beckham / Getty

Southampton midfielder James Ward-Prowse has joined an elite list of 13 other Premier League players who are regarded as some of the best free-kick takers ever to have played in the league.

Last weekend, Ward-Prowse became only the ninth Premier League player ever to score two direct free-kicks in a game, the last being former Tottenham star Christian Eriksen in 2015.

Southampton beat Villa 4-3 in a game in which Ward-Prowse inducted himself to the list of the Premier League's best and consistent free-kick goalscorers.

Ward Prowse is now joint 12th with Juan Mata and Christian Eriksen. His next free-kick goal will see him leap into the top 10, joining Frank Lampard, Jamie Redknapp and Nolberto Solano on nine goals.

Here is the list of the greatest Premier League free-kick takers in history:

Christian Eriksen (8 goals)

Juan Mata (8 goals)

James Ward-Prowse (8 goals)

Frank Lampard (9 goals)

Jamie Redknapp (9 goals)

Nolberto Solano (9 goals)

Morten Gamst Pederson (10 goals)

Ian Harte (10 goals)

Sebastian Larsson (11 goals)

Cristiano Ronaldo (11 goals)

Laurent Robert (11 goals)

Thierry Henry (12 goals)

Gianfranco Zola (12 goals)

David Beckham (18 goals)