Indian Super League: Odisha FC Look to Continue Their Dominating Run Against Hyderabad FC

Nov 23, 2020, 3:42 PM GMT+5:30
Odisha FC Take on Hyderabad FC in the ISL
Odisha FC Take on Hyderabad FC in the ISL | Twitter -

Hyderabad FC will be looking to earn a win for the first time against Odisha FC when the two sides take on each other in the fourth match of the new Indian Super League season.

Both sides will begin their second season ever in the ISL and Monday's game is expected to be a cracker. Hyderabad FC lost both games last season to Odisha FC and finished bottom of the league table.

Here are 3 things that could define this clash....

1. Foreign contingent crucial for this clash

Santana and Marcelinho
Santana and Marcelinho | Twitter

In a clash of two fairly new sides in the ISL, it is imperative that their foreign players turn up and perform to the best of their abilities.

Players like Marcelinho, Santana and Onwu are proper gamechangers for their respective sides and could end up playing a defining role in this clash.

Both Marcelinho and Santana will play against their former teams tonight.

2. No Marcelinho, No problem for Hyderabad FC

Marcelinho | Twitter

Hyderabad FC let go of their talisman Marcelinho to Odisha FC ahead of the new season, in return, they brought in Aridane Santana from Odisha FC itself. Santana is a proven goal-scorer with nine goals in 14 games.

He will be aided by Aussie forward Joel Chianese who has plenty of experience in the A-League, having played 131 games and scored 25 goals. He has also experience in the AFC Champions League with Sydney FC and Perth Glory.

3. Squad depth

Odisha FC squad
Odisha FC squad | Odisha FC

This is one factor that could eventually decide this clash as Odisha FC have a better overall squad than Hyderabad FC.

Hyderabad's defence is young and inexperienced. With only one foreigner Odei Onaindia and the likes of Chinglensana Singh and Asish Rai being their only defenders with ISL experience in the team, they might suffer.


Odisha FC

Goalkeepers: Arshdeep Singh, Kamaljit Singh, Ravi Kumar, Ankit Bhuyan

Defenders: Steven Taylor, Saurabh Meher, Gaurav Bora, Kamalpreet Singh, Mohd Sajid Dhot, George D’Souza, Shubham Sarangi, Jacob, Hendry Antonay

Midfielders: Baoringdao Bodo, Cole Alexander, Isak Vanlalruatfela, Jerry Mawihmingthanga, S Lalhrezuala, Nandhakumar Sekar, Paul Ramfangzauva, Samuel Lalmuanpuia, Vinit Rai, Thoiba Singh

Forwards: Diego Mauricio, Manuel Onwu, Daniel Lalhlimpuia, Laishram Singh, Marcelo Pereira

Hyderabad FC

Goalkeepers: Lalbiakhlua Jongte, Laxmikant Kattimani, Manas Dubey, Subrata Paul

Defenders: Akash Mishra, Asish Rai, Chinglensana Singh, Dimple Bhagat, Kynsailang Khongsit, Nikhil Prabhu, Odei Onaindia, Sahil Panwar

Midfielders: Abhishek Halder, Adil Khan, Sahil Tavora, Halicharan Narzary, Hitesh Sharma, Joao Victor, Laldanmawia Ralte, Lluis Sastre, Mark Zothanpuia, Mohammed Yasir, Nikhil Poojary, Souvik Chakrabarti, Sweden Fernandes

Forwards: Aridane Santana, Fran Sandaza, Ishan Dey, Joel Chianese, Lalawmpuia, Liston Colaco, Rohit Danu